Cauliflower in my garden and a recipe

Cauliflower is actually very pretty in the garden.

Cauliflower is actually very pretty in the garden.

Cauliflower has gotten a bad wrap. It is just not one of the favorite vegetables of all time. I must admit that it is not my favorite. But..

It is a cruciferous vegetable-which makes it very healthy-it is crunchy (I do like crunchy), and it grows extremely well here in the Arizona desert during the Fall/Winter season.

I plant cauliflower seeds in little cups and grow them on my back porch. Then I plant the seedling into my garden bed around September 1st. Now here it is almost December 1st, and I am harvesting my first head of cauliflower. Because I plant the seedlings in my garden beds every month until January; I will have fresh cauliflower for my family clear up to April.

Of course we eat cauliflower raw, steamed and fermented as a pickle; but a couple of my favorite ways to eat it-is as a rice substitute, or as an ingredient in a Paleo version of a tortilla.

For the rice substitute– cut the stem out of a head of cauliflower, then chop the head into florets. Using a food processor- grind up the florets ( a few at a time) set them aside in a large bowl until all the cauliflower is done. Heat up about 3 Tblsp of coconut or avocado oil in a skillet. Once it is hot, add the cauliflower and stir until soft about 4 minutes. You can add some lemon juice or just salt and pepper. Sometimes I decorate it with snipped green onions.

For the Paleo tortilla- Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. You can use  your cooled cauliflower rice, or steam the cauliflower right after processing it. Either way, you need 2 packed cups of it. Add 2 whole eggs and some salt and pepper.

Divide the mixture in 5 or 6 tortillas on the parchment paper. Pop the tray into the oven for about 10 minutes. Then take the tray out of the oven and carefully peel the tortillas off of the paper and turn them over to cook the other side. Put the tray back into the oven for 8-10  minutes. You can cool them on a  wire rack if you want, but we eat them right out of the oven.

If I do not eat them right out of the oven; I like to reheat them by browning them on a hot dry skillet.

Now tell me that you don’t like cauliflower.     

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in paleo recipes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cauliflower in my garden and a recipe

  1. We like cauliflower soup.

Leave a Reply

