Donna’s November Garden and a recipe.

I row sprouts in my kitchen all year long.

I grow sprouts in my kitchen all year long.

What’s in Donna’s garden

November gardening is unique to the desert areas. Most vegetable gardeners have put their garden beds to bed and are coming inside to enjoy a warm cup of apple cider and dream of spring gardening.

Here in the desert we are harvesting every day and planting every weekend of the year. Follow along in the blog and I will show you how you too can be harvesting something fresh to put on your family’s table every day of the year.

If you have been planting year round, you could be harvesting beets, bok choi, carrots, eggplant, green beans, kale, peppers, pumpkins, radishes, squash (both summer and winter), sweet potatoes and swiss chard. Don’t forget herbs like basil and cilantro.

Here is what you could be planting right now. Asparagus, beets, bok choi, broccoli, brussel’s sprouts, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, celery, chard, kale, lettuces, onions, shallots, peas, radish, spinach and turnips. If you like herbs; this is the time to plant all those cute little transplants that you see at the nursery.

If you do not have a garden, here is another idea for you. I grow sprouts of all kinds on my counter top year round. These are mung bean sprouts. Just 1 Tblsp of seeds will make this many sprouts in just a matter of a few days.  

My favorite way to use them is to put them in my morning smoothie. I use orange juice from my last year’s harvest, 1 cup of water, 1 cup of pomegranate seeds from this year, and two scoops of protein equivalent to about 20 grams of protein.

After blending it up in my Vitamix, I put the sprouts in and turn it up to high, until the sprouts are liquefied.

Cheers!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in monthly harvesting, monthly planting, Recipes, Sprouts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Donna’s November Garden and a recipe.

  1. Liz says:

    Great idea!

Leave a Reply

