I am not normally a quitter…

My patient load just went from 22 to 1.

My patient load just went from 22 to 1.

The only time that I have ever quit job is for a better opportunity. More pay, better benefits or growth in my chosen field. But this time is different.

If you read my previous post about my first month as an RN; you will see what I do every Tues, Thursday and alternating weekend. Actually, I have been doing this for over 2 months now.

After working days like that, it takes some time for this girl to recover. I seem to spend my days sleeping til 8:00 am and playing catch up all day long.

I love the work that I am doing and I truly enjoy my co-workers and people that I care for. My bosses have been amazing. I really hate to quit.

But Steve and I had a talk last night about how things are going. He has been incredibly supportive, so have my children and friends…but they miss me.

Steve says that the weekend that I work is way too long for both of us. He says that the money is great, but our happiness as a team is much more important to him.

My mom recently had to go in for Cardiac Bypass Surgery with an Aortic Valve Replacement. Not only do they crack open your chest for that, but they need to cut open the heart to replace the valve.

Just a few hours later, they found that they had to open her chest again; because she had clotted and was bleeding into the sack that surrounds the heart. Not only was she bleeding internally, but the pressure from the filling sack was keeping her heart from pumping.

What was supposed to be a 4 day stay would have been extended for an additional 2 days, but then she developed pneumonia. By the time that the pneumonia was resolved enough to send her home; 15 days had passed. A patient experiences a lot of deconditioning when laying in bed sick for that long.

My mom is going to recover here at my farm home. When I picked her up, I realized that I had a very fragile patient on my hands. How could I leave her alone? I have friends, I can make it work. I am good at juggling things.

But something kept telling me that this time I needed to stop juggling so many things. My mom is precious to me and life is too short as it is.

So after talking to Steve some more and praying a lot-I decided for now….

Twizzle, Twazzle, Twozzle, Twome; time for this nurse to come home.”

At least for now.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Nurse Donna, Nursing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I am not normally a quitter…

  1. You will never regret time spent making the lives of those you love more comfortable.

    • Thank you Blue. Today, we are having a birthday celebration for one of Steve’s kids. My mom is sitting at the table separating garlic cloves for me to plant. Steve’s 93 year old mom is sitting next to her in the wheelchair. They are swapping great grandchildren stories. I love listening to them.

  2. Joseph Mammino says:

    Thanks for sharing Donna.. difficult decisions but you made the right one to care for your mom. Knowing the workload of RNs makes me very appreciative of their work. You are now one of them. We are so fortunate. Joe

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Thank you Joe. There is certainly plenty of opportunity. I know that once my mom is better, I will find the right position for me.

  4. cg517 says:

    Awwww sorry you had to leave the job, but yes I know exactly what you are talking about…..BUT at least you are a nurse and can understand a bit more than I did….Yes there are lots of opportunities for you and hope that when you go back that they will understand why you left so soon…….Good luck!

  5. Thank you Carma. I really felt like a jerk for leaving. But mom needs me more right now. They got along without me before they met, their gonna get along without me now.

  6. CastIronDan says:

    That is a very worthy reason to leave the new job. You made the right choice!

  7. Thank you Dan. The encouragement means a lot to me right now. I really struggled with this decision.

  8. Alice SANTANA says:

    GOD BLESS YOU AND HOPE THAT UR MOM IS DOING MUCH, MUCH BETTER.

    IT IS BEST FOR ALL THAT U DO STOP DOING SOOOO VERY MUCH AT HOME, HOSPITAL, GARDENING, CANNING, ETC…. CANNOT UNDERSTAND U CAN DO SOOOOOOOOO VERY MUCH. MAY OUR DEAR LORD

    CONTINUE TO GIVE U SO MUCH STRENGTH!!

    ________________________________

    • Yes Alice, it is true that sometimes God will let us see just how much we can accomplish and then show us that we need to stop adding more to our life. Balance is a good word to use here. Mom is doing much better and I will find a way to cut back on some of this stuff.

Leave a Reply

