Keeping all the plates spinning.

Balance.

It is one of my favorite life goals. Like a juggling act, I have gotten pretty good at keeping all the plates spinning.

While attending nursing school; we fixed up and sold two houses, we bought a fixer upper farm, and started fixing it. Then best of all-I got to welcome two new grandsons into the world. I have to laugh at my Block 1 instructor who said “A nursing student has no time for a life.”

Now that I have graduated, I have been sending out lots of applications. It has been really a half hearted effort because I am enjoying just being Farmer Gramma Donna.

The balancing act of my life the last 3 weeks; since passing the boards has actually included bubble baths and cooking meals that take hours to make. I love doing that!

I get up and milk the goats, feed the chickens, and get on the elliptical. I get to clean my house while singing as loud as I want. My dust wand is my microphone, the dust bunnies are my audience until I banish them to the dust bin. I twist and shout while polishing my floors and jitterbug with the broom almost everyday.

But a strange thing happened to me the other day while I was out talking to the hummingbirds. The phone rang and it was someone wanting to interview me for a job. I agreed, the job sounded fantastic. I even tried to talk her out of interviewing me. I told her that I was a new grad. I even told her that I could not work nights! That would send her packing! I said that I would be a danger to myself and others if I did not get enough sleep. She laughed and said that it was refreshing to hear such honesty. We made an appointment, and I have to say the rest of the day I felt just awful. Doom! Despair and agony on me! I love my life. I still have some savings, I thought. I do not want to go back to work, I thought.

Yesterday I walked in to the most beautiful skilled rehab center that I have ever seen. I was greeted by everyone so sweetly. They all looked right at me and smiled. The interview was actually fun! Any nervous feelings that I had vanished during the interview. It just felt right somehow. When the lady walked me to my car, shook my hand and said “It was truly a pleasure to have met you” I just knew.

You see- I have been asking God to close any door so tight that I could not claw my way in-if he did not want me there. But I also asked Him to make it so clear that I would know beyond even a shadow of doubt-if He wanted me to walk through.

Yesterday afternoon, I kept re-playing my experience over and over. I even woke up in the middle of the night (I never do that!) and thought about what it would be like to play, ahem work, with these people.

I was out trimming goat hooves today when I got the call. I told her that I thought that I was not supposed to get the call for another week. She said that was true, but that everyone who met me could not help smiling at me. They just knew somehow that I was the right one to add to their happy family.

So, I will have to get used to keeping some different plates spinning. But I have the Master of all Balancing acts on my side.

Don’t ever doubt God’s amazing goodness.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Keeping all the plates spinning.

  1. Susan says:

    God has a plan! Congratulations on your new job!

  2. CastIronDan says:

    Congratulations Donna!

  3. Alice SANTANA says:

    CONGRATS……………I KNOW U WILL DO JUST FINE. EVERYONE WILL LOVE U!! GOD GLESS.

    ________________________________

  4. anniesnomsblog says:

    Congratulations on your new job! I too feel like life at the moment is such a balancing act, but it’s fantastic when things feel just right and you know. Good luck in the new job and with continuing to balance everything! 🙂

  5. Thank you Annie. You are right when things feel just right we can do so much more than we ever thought possible. Good luck your balancing act as well.

Leave a Reply

