A Dairy Goat Lease (Part 2)

These goats went back home today

These goats went back home today

Well, we have had two leased goats for over a month now. I just thought that you would like to know how it went.

The  one goat was a first freshener who gave me almost a gallon of milk  everyday. The second was a doeling. My hope was that she would grow up on the property and become accustomed to our ways.

The results. Unfortunately these two goats cried most of the day. They are Nubians; so their cries were very loud and mournful. My husband complained, several of my neighbors complained, and though I was in denial for a while-I too found myself complaining. I spoke with the owner of the goats today and she was very gracious about taking them back home to her lovely farm; their original home.  I am sure that they are much happier.

I see many advertisements for people who are in search of an adult doe in milk. I would not recommend it. She may seem just fine when you go to see her, but when you take her away from her home and friends, she is likely to mourn the loss of her friends. I have heard it said that some goats will cry for months after leaving their friends.

I would recommend however, buying two kids from the same farm. They will comfort each other and eventually grow accustomed to your farm. Then, after they have kids of their own, they will be lovely milkers.

I am grateful to my friend for giving me the opportunity to see if I could indeed make this work out. I had considered leasing goats out myself someday. I now believe that it is not a good idea.

I have told Steve that when a project is no longer fun, then I will stop doing it.

Well, tonight when I went outside, I was greeted by my quiet Elsa and Bambi. I actually found myself singing while I did my chores for the first time in a few weeks.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Goats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

