Feeding those that I love

Who knows were they came from.

Who knows were they came from.

I admit it. I love to feed my friends and family.

I have been a recipe hoarder since I was 12. I would clip and paste and write recipes out on 5X6 cards and keep them on the top of my closet. Why? Here is why.

Let me use a friend of mine to illustrate. Let’s call her Mrs. V. She told me that her mother used to make her favorite meal for her birthday.  It was a pot roast with potatoes and gravy and  chocolate cake for dessert.

So for her birthday I used my very favorite recipes of all of the above. I anticipated Mrs. V’s pleasure and truly looked forward to presenting her with her birthday meal.

She did not disappoint me. When she and Mr V sat down at the table, her eyes lit up like a child at Christmas. She ooooo’d and awww’d. But what really got me was that with each bite she took, her eyes rolled back in her head and she moaned with delight.

Needless to say– I loved it. I mentioned that I felt like I needed a cigarette after watching her ecstasy over her birthday meal. I love to feed that  dear lady. She knows just how to show her appreciation.

That is one of the things that I love to do. I love to look through recipes and  spend the day making magical dishes that illicit that kind of response from those that I love.

I have another friend with a birthday coming up. Her favorite food combo is lemon and raspberries. Quite refreshing for this time of year. I have combined and changed some recipes and came up with a special something in her honor.

I will make it to serve on her birthday and report back. At that time, I will share the recipe with you.

Please remember, I do not know where my recipes originally came from. So if I post it and it looks familiar to you, please do not hate me. Just make it and moan along with us.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

