Juicing Cucumbers

Who needs an Icee. Just pull this out of the freezer and slurp while it thaws.

Who needs an Icee. Just pull this out of the freezer and slurp while it thaws.

I told a friend that I had about 25 cucumbers to juice. I have not had time lately to pick my nose lately- let alone pickle some cucumbers. Besides cold cucumber juice is so refreshing on a hot day. This last weekend we had 118-120 degree days, and chores just do not just do themselves.

Her reply was; “I did not see any cucumbers in your garden this year”. That was my seg-way in to tell her this story.

A few years ago, a friend of mine was struggling to grow a garden here in the Arizona desert. She is from a far away land where there is one growing season, but during that season everything pretty much grows itself.  I made some suggestions and pointed her in some good directions. I cannot say that I taught her to garden. She already was a gardener. But now she has a big beautiful garden of her very own in the desert.

Over the years, we have shared back and forth. Sometimes I share from my abundance, sometimes she shares from hers. We also motivate each other by sharing ideas. We never keep track, because we both love the sharing even more than the receiving.

This year because of nursing school, my mom’s health, and building the new goat barn; I let my garden go. I am pretty embarrassed to admit that I did not plant corn, cucumbers, green beans, melons, squash, eggplant or okra. Don’t you worry though-next year there will be plenty.

So when my friend called and asked if I would like some cucumbers- I said “Yes, please” Then  I got out my juicer.

This is a Slurpee for my chickens.

This is a Slurpee for my chickens.

 

I was visiting another friend, and saw all the beautiful okra that she had just harvested. I could not help but admire the beautiful abundance that she had. She said “Take some, please”. That night Steve got his favorite roasted okra for dinner.

My point? Just start sharing with an open heart-expecting nothing in return. There is magic in that. It all comes back over and over again, and you get to turn some of the loveliest people into your friends.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Abundance, Freezer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

