Homesteading in the Desert?

Messy messy!

Messy messy!

Yes!

I have been doing it for over 30 years. I grew up on 10 acres in California. Then came here.

After I finished crying-I started planting and keeping records. I have talked at conferences and churches all over Arizona and have even become politically (Hiss) evolved.

Now that I live on acreage, here are some sights that you will see in my home. The products change with the season but the mess (abundance) remains the same.

From the Bees;

Honey Mead fermenting for a month

Honey Mead fermenting for a month

From the goats

Goat milk waiting patiently for Donna to make cheese.

Goat milk waiting patiently for Donna to make cheese.

From the Orange trees

Orange juice from our trees

Orange juice from our trees

From the chickens;

several dozen per week

several dozen per week

From the garden

cucumbers for juicing. One can only make so many pickles.

cucumbers for juicing. One can only make so many pickles.

Even the fruit trees are loving this life.

dehydrated tomatoes, plums and peaches

dehydrated tomatoes, plums and peaches

I have not shared much about our meat birds, meat goats or pigs. I really do not want to upset anyone. But we do that too.

I am getting better about sharing recipes. So stay tuned as we find ways to prepare all of this lovely abundance.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Abundance, bees, cheese making, Chickens, Ducks, eggs, fermented foods, Freezer, Fruit, goat cheese, goat milk, Goats, honey, Kune Kune, Oranges, Peaches, Pigs, Raw Milk, Recipes, tomatoes, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homesteading in the Desert?

  1. Wow!! That is so neat! We live in high desert ourselves, but are so very seasonal, that there is no way (minus greenhouses) that we could grow year round!

  2. We wanted to move to Arizona a few years ago. Hubby has family out there, and I just fell in love after a few visits. Something about the desert just drew me. But, God had other plans for us and we ended up buying a house in the state we were born and grew up in…I’m thankful for it, we have room for gardening and chickens and it’s such a blessing! But I still kind of yearn for Arizona. It amazes me that so much can come from such a dry place!

    • Oh my Dawn, you are the very first one to tell me that about visiting and yearning to come back. Most of my friends came here because they had to and either choose to make the best of it or complain (a lot!).
      You can come and visit anytime. Late Oct through March are the best times to visit.

  3. It really is such a learning process when homesteading in what is considered an extreme climate (i.e. a climate that you cannot just chuck seeds in and hope for the best). We are in Australia, and after living in NZ, I was very naive about how differently I would have to approach things. Of course after a garden of sunburned and wilted veggies, I’m definitely learning. However, now we’re moving to another state, I have to start that learning process all over again! You’re definitely an inspiration, keep it up.

    • Thank you Mama Zed. It is true! You leaving NZ for AU must have been quite a shock. I experienced that when we had to leave southern California for Phoenix Arizona. It took a few years but I finally got it. You will too. Allow the passion to keep you going.

Leave a Reply

