A Perpetual Bone Broth Pot

Bone broth on my front porch

Bone broth on my front porch

You know that prior to nursing school, I was always making bone broth. Well almost always. But it takes 2-3 days to make a great pot of bone broth. Because I love to drink it or use it for soups, it does not last long.

Now that school is over, I am back in full force making the bone broth. During the summer, I put the crock pot on the front porch. That way “Beastie Boy” will not be tempted by the wonderful aroma, and I do not have to turn up the air conditioner to keep the house cool.

But this time, I learned something new.

I had a  beautiful huge Rhode Island Red rooster. He did a great job taking care of his hens out on pasture everyday. But he took his job way to seriously. He would attack everyone. Especially me. I started taking a piece of rubber hose with me when I fed, watered or collected eggs. I could not turn my back on him, because he would watch, and the minute my attention was not on him; wham! He would jump the back of my legs.

Recently, we had to go out of town for a few days and my sweet friend was going to cover for me. She has goats and chickens too, so it took only one day to train her. But she was going to bring her beautiful little daughters to keep her company. I could not  bear to think of one of them getting a surprise attack.

Fast forward. Yesterday I took the dressed out rooster from of the freezer. He was a year old and I thought that he would be tough, so after thawing, I put him in the crock pot with some carrots, onions, garlic, salt and peppercorns. My friends told me that the meat would still be tough, stringy and tasteless.

This morning I took the meat off of the bones and put all the bones and icky bits back into the pot with some apple cider vinegar. Then I topped it off with water and put it back on the front porch.

While shredding the meat and filling containers for the fridge; I tasted both the white and dark meat. The white was a tad stringy but very tasty and had a yellowish tinge to it. The dark meat was very dark, tender and delicious.

The only thing that I can say is grass fed-even a mature roo = yellow fat, and very tasty meat indeed.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Bone broth, chicken broth, Chickens, Dinner, Freezer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Perpetual Bone Broth Pot

  1. What does the apple cider vinegar accomplish in bone broth? I’ve never used it, and make bone broth quite regularly.

  2. The ACV is what pulls the minerals out of the bones. Once the bones crumble when touched, then you know that your bone broth is full of the minerals.

Leave a Reply

