Broody Silkies


I never really thought that I would keep Silkie chickens. They are cute and all, but not really what you would call farm birds.

But a friend of mine called me. She was discouraged. She lives where she is not supposed to have chickens, but she bought some silkie chicks. One grew to be a rooster and though he was sweet; he was loud and going to get her into trouble.

She asked if I would give him a home on the farm. So I did. I did not have a separate cage to put him in, so I put him in with a couple of Americauna chicks that I had been given. I watched in amazement as he went over to the chicks and spread his wings over them. “Daddy!”

He raised those girls. I thought that if a male would do this, then how broody would a hen be? So I bought Zeuss a matching black mate. Helena lays 5-6 medium sized eggs per week. Zeuss loves her and snuggles with her on the perch every night. The two young pullets lay on the ground beneath their “papa”.

Helena recently went broody and is sitting on some eggs. We will see how it goes. It is pretty hot outside. Sometimes a broody hen will abandon the nest when it is too hot.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broody Silkies

  1. Sophie33 says:

    A lovely vdieo within a cool post! i really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

