The Future Lies in the Hands of Our Youth

Well of coarse it does. But why am I thinking about this particular thing right now?

Here is why. Yesterday I went to meet a friend for the first time face to face. We met on line through a goat forum. I could not wait to see her place, because not only  does she have goats, but she also has a breed of sheep that I am interested in. I wanted to see them and ask her questions about them.

During our visit, I asked about all the plants that were in pots. She told me that her 17 year old son was quite the propagator and would love for me to meet him.

It turned out that he was indeed home. So when we stepped into the kitchen; he was there and we got to chat. He was a tall good looking kid who looked me in the eye. He seemed excited to meet me, and to share with me what he is doing.

I was really impressed when he told me that he and his Ag teacher did not see eye to eye. My new young friend is anti GMOs and his teacher teaches that Monsanto is the answer to all the world  hunger issues. He said that regardless of this disagreement, he wrote his final paper for class on the evils of GMOs.

He walked me out to my car and showed me his propagation bed where he started some fruit trees from trimmings and several boysenberry plants that he propagated. He would like to be able to be in a position to sell these items. So I was his very first customer. I bought two plants, and invited him to our garden exchange.

I will encourage my other friends to purchase from this young man in order to fan the flame of his passion of raising non GMO food.

It is true that the future lies in the hands of our youth. I just hope and pray that there are more out there like him.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Future Lies in the Hands of Our Youth

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Here is how I propagated roses that were not patented. I constructed a box made of 1 x6 2 feet square with a bottom of holes in it. Filled it with sand. Made a hood of plastic 18 inches high shaped like a covered wagon. At the top of plastic inside the box I put a 1/2 inch plastic tube with three mist emitters facing down and connected it to a hose closing the other end. Put this box in the full sun and fill the Box with rose cuttings with leaves that are inserted in the sand about 3 inches or so. Turn on the water in the morning, leave on all day until sunset. In a few weeks you will have rooted the cuttings and can be planted in soil. The roots should be 3 to 4 inches long. The roses will be on their own roots as opposed to the ones on sale which are grafted on Dr. Huey or Multiflora roses for mass production. If it works for rose cutting it should work for any other plant. Joe Mammino.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Well there you go Joe. The mother of this young man read him the post this am. He was surprised and happy. I will make sure that they see this. Steve will enjoy the information as well, because his playing around with propagation as well.

  2. Sophie33 says:

    What a lovely kid. Well done too!

Leave a Reply

