Like Chocolate and Peanut Butter

My favorite all time flavor combo is chocolate and peanut butter. Ice cream, cookies, cake, pie, shakes, brownies and candy. But that is not what I am talking about.

Tonight Steve and I went to visit some new young (er) friends. They too bought an acreage last year. They too, have been working hard to make their dreams come true. He (the husband) is more like me; with thoughts of sustainability keeping him up nights. He has built some lovely garden boxes, and planted some young trees in his already established orchard.

She is a creative artistic type. She loves horses, dogs, goats (so she can’t be all bad) and wine. Her passion is rescuing abused horses. I love the heart that must go with that.

I taught them how to make ricotta cheese in my kitchen last week and in return, she invited us over to teach me about wine and to tour their place.

She shared her knowledge on Arizona wines with me and introduced me to her horses. I asked her how in the world can she afford to care for all the horses, dogs, goats and pot belly pig. She said “I work my butt off”. Well then. That my friends is passion.

Her husband gave us a tour of his projects. His gardens, his compost pile and his orchard. I loved it all. What I really loved is that the lady and I talked about how her passions are different than his; but they encourage each other. It seems that they are each better for having the other one in their life.

Steve and I drove home and talked about how inspired we were to go home and continue working towards our dreams. His-to beautify our property, mine to create as much food sustainability as I can with what we have. Together we will create a beautiful farm.

Like chocolate and peanut butter. Both are very good by themselves; but together…amazing!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Like Chocolate and Peanut Butter

  1. Sophie33 says:

    That is so cool for the 2 of you!

Leave a Reply

