Magical Ricotta from Goat Milk

% cups of whole milk ricotta from one gallon of goat milk.

5 cups of whole milk ricotta from one gallon of goat milk.

Now that Elsa the Good Goat is giving us milk, and I have very little time to make cheese (because of nursing school), I make ricotta.

Why? Because in my opinion, it is the quickest cheese and a great way to use the milk. About 30 minutes. I know, right?

Elsa is a Nubian. Steve and I have found that we prefer Nigerian milk for actual drinking. But the Nubian milk is still delightful. It is great for making kefir, yogurt and cheese.

To make ricotta, I just heat one gallon of milk to 195 degrees. Then I slowly stir in 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar. Then I increase the heat to 205 degrees. It is now ready to strain. I line a colander with muslin or a tea-towel and set it over a larger bowl (to catch the whey). Now I pour the whole thing into the colander.  Then I gather the edges of the towel and hang for a minute. You do not want it too dry. Ok now, open the towel and scoop out the rich goodness of whole milk ricotta made from Elsa the Good Goat’s milk. My yeild was 5 cups of ricotta and still over a half gallon of whey.

Ta-da!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in goat cheese, Goats, Raw Milk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Magical Ricotta from Goat Milk

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Can I make Ricota from store milk? Joe

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

