So Many Passions, Not Enough Time.

Passions, we all have them. Some of us like to cook, some of us like to sew, some of us like to sing, some of us like to dance. We have to live a balanced life, and carve out time for our passions.

But what happens when you have too many passions? I do. How do you balance that?

Well, I go to my list. I write down what my priorities are.

My passions are as follows…

Family relationships. Steve, my kids, my ♥grand kids♥, my mom and close friends.

Farm life. Animals, gardens, fruit trees and pasture. I am learning to find a way to use old time permaculture principles to make it all as sustainable as possible. I say old time; but permaculture is a relatively new word. But it is a new word for something that people have known for a long time. When you place a berm; water backs up and waters deep. When  you plant tall trees for shade; you can plant things in their shade that cannot handle full sun. When you compost with wood chips; you create a sponge that will hold water longer. Oh sorry, did I go off on a tangent? Back to my list.

Preparing the harvest. Canning, dehydrating, juicing, cooking, baking bread, making cheese, kefir and kombucha, fermented foods and drinks.

Eating and sharing all this good food with my family and friends around a very casual Saturday night fire pit.

Oh yes-and at the fire pit that is where the singing and dancing comes in. I want it all!

What was my point? I forgot. Oh well, you just gotta love it.

Maybe I was going for the opposite of the statement above; living for my passions and  carving out time for a balanced life. Here’s an idea, I could pull my family and friends into my farm life. Hmmm, I think that I need to work on this one.

What are your passions?

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Passions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So Many Passions, Not Enough Time.

  1. Kayla Kamp says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your passions. You sound like an amazing person! I’m in the same boat. Too many passions and not enough time. I love blogging, upcycling, crocheting, trying to help make the world a better place, and snuggle with my cat.

    • Thank you Kayla for your encouragement. I think that when people are following their passions, they actually have the ability of making the world a better place. I think that blogging is a wonderful avenue for doing that. Thank for being my new friend and part of the blogging community.

      • Kayla Kamp says:

        I feel that way too. God gives us passions to fill a certain need in the world, so when we follow them, we are filling that void. Thank you for being my new friend. I look forward to reading more of your beautiful, encouraging words.

  2. Oooh! I will be using that line. It is so perfect for a conversation that I am currently having with a friend.

Leave a Reply

