Elsa Marie!

Elsa the good is giving 1quart and more in excess of feeding her little boy Prince Pepper.

Elsa the good is giving 1quart and more in excess of feeding her little boy Prince Pepper.

I once worked in a large office of women. When someone messed up; we would say her name and add Marie as a middle name.  I liked the habit. I do it all the time at home. Whenever I call someone by name and add Marie, it is a loving way of saying “you are messing up!” The problem is that I am surrounded by males. So we have Steven Marie, Cody Marie and Mason Marie.

Now that Elsa has settled with her little Prince Pepper, we have discovered that she produces way more milk than he can handle. She is a Nubian and he is half Nigerian; so he is just a little fella.

One morning she was just crying for no apparent reason. She had been fed, the baby was with her, Bella and Bambi were both with her. I could not figure it out. So I put her on the milk stand and checked her over. Her udder was very tight. So I milked her. Prince Pepper is a week old and has been eating like a boss, but I still got a quart of milk.

So ever since then, I milk her every morning.

Tonight Steve and I were out in the pasture for several hours planting baby Mulberry trees that the neighbor gave us. Elsa cried the whole time. It got quite annoying! Finally sick and tired of her noise, I went over to her and said “Elsa Marie, what is wrong with you?” Steve said “Oh, she is in trouble now. You used Marie on her.”  I reached down and felt her udder. Sure enough it was tight. So, I put her on the stand and milked out a second quart of milk for the day.

This is my first experience with this, so I felt like I was stealing Pepper’s milk. But Pepper was in his dog kennel for the night. After he eats; he puts himself to bed. Once I milked Elsa, she was fine and no more noise. Easy enough!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Goats, Raw Milk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elsa Marie!

  1. Nicole says:

    There’s nothing worse than painful udders!

Leave a Reply

