My Goat Elsa

Cody is protecting Elsa and her baby boy

Cody is protecting Elsa and her baby boy

This is Elsa and her new born son. I traded my aquaponics system for two young doelings. She is  one of the two. Her parents are purebred Nubians goats. Nubians handle the heat of the desert very well. Her mother gives a gallon of milk everyday. Her father has sired little girls that grew up to give a gallon of milk everyday. So Elsa should do the same. Maybe not with her first freshening. But certainly by her second. We shall see.

Elsa was bred to a Nigerian Dwarf. So the baby that she had today is a hybrid that is called a mini-nubian. The  reason that I did that is so that her first kidding would not be so difficult. The benefits of having a mini Nubian is that they are not as noisy as a Nubian, they are not as big as the Nubian, so they will not eat as much. But they give less milk than a Nubian. For the homesteader who does not need as much milk as a gallon per day; this is a very nice goat.

Cody has been out there with her today. He enjoys being with the goats. I just cannot let him in the pen at this moment; because Elsa still has after birth coming and does not need Cody sniffing her butt.

I will give updates both here, and on Facebook to let you know how Prince Von der Pepper

does. I will also let you know how Elsa does on the milk stand,

and how much milk she gives.

Bella and Bambi should kid the end of April or the beginning of May. There will definitely be a lot of  goat milk around here. Say cheese!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Cody, Farm dog, goat cheese, Goats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Goat Elsa

  1. Joseph Mammino says:

    Just read about gardening using bales of hay as the growing medium. Looks simple especially for small users. Joe

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Do you raise meat goats or just milk goats? I’m curious about both and glad to have found your blog!

    • I raise Nigerians and Nubians for milk. Cheese making is my goal.
      Though we will use the males for meat and bones (bone broth); there is not much meat on a dairy animal. Next year I plan to breed my biggest Nubian doe to a Boar breed male. The result will be a heftier dairy animal. That is how we solve the meat issue without keeping a meat herd.
      Some people find that they do not care for the texture of goat. I use a meat grinder and can the meat. It is delicious.

Leave a Reply

