Cilantro for Metal Detox

Cilantro grows fall, winter and spring in the desert

Cilantro grows fall, winter and spring in the desert

I have heard it said that cilantro is not only a great detoxing agent for our bodies, but it also pulls metals from our  system.

How did the metals get in there in the first place?

Years ago, I worked with a doctor that went on a metal detoxification program every time he had to get vaccinated for the flu. He told me that the preservative Thymersol is really a form of mercury. He also told me that once certain metals  get into your  body, they do not  come out on their own. He said that lead was another metal that once it goes in, you are stuck with it. We talked about aluminum, cadnium and uranium. They go in and stay in.

He told me that cilantro in large doses works to pull certain metals out. So, I always plant cilantro in my fall garden. Lots of it. I sprinkle it on salads, and put handfuls in my smoothies. Living in the southwest, everybody makes their own form of salsa, and  cilantro is a must for that special southwestern flavor.

I never really thought about it until a friend of mine had a hair analysis. She was told that she had lots of heavy metals in her system. One of the things that she is now doing is consuming cilantro. She was told that the soils in our state are polluted with  certain metals.

Did you notice that I said  “Fall garden”? It  turns out that if you start your seeds early in the summer; that you can plant your seedlings in late Sept or early October here in the desert. Cilantro grows like crazy here. But once it starts warming up, the cilantro will bolt. So I plant extras in pots and put them in the shade so that they will last longer.

During the summertime, my favorite herb is basil. But I still find myself buying organic cilantro at the store. When I get a air controlled green house, cilantro will be one of the herbs that goes in there during the summer.

I know that we cannot control every little thing. We live in a polluted world, amongst disease. But in my  search for balance between holistic health and western medicine; I will be doing the best that I can for myself, my family, my animals and my friends.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cilantro for Metal Detox

  1. Great article I had no idea. I shared.

  2. Sophie33 says:

    I didn’t know that about coriander. In my latest post, I harvested it from our garden & made a lovely dinner out of it. You can read it all here: http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2016/05/05/fresh-chard-fresh-coriander-leaves-from-our-garden-made-into-a-lovely-wok-dinner/

Leave a Reply

