Oat straw for Your Health

Oat straw

Oat straw

Since I became an affiliate for Mountain Rose Herbs; I have been looking through their site and researching the different herbs and remedies. Oat Straw is one that definitely caught my eye.

It is the plant that we all know and love that gives us oats for oatmeal. The straw has some amazing qualities to it. I have found several sites that state that if you make a tea or infusion from it, that it will provide you will Vit A, B Complex, Vit C, Vit E, Vit K, Calcium, Magnesium, Manganese, Potassium, Silica, Zinc and protein. I found one site that states that there are non problematic phytoestrogens (they are the ones that fight cancer).

The benefit that I was really interested in though, is that it has been used for increasing the libido. Again some books say both male and female, some just talk about the female interest.

Some sites say to make a tea with 2 tablespoons of the oat straw and steep to make a tea. Another site suggests weighing out an ounce (that is a lot of oat straw) and steep for 4 hours to make an infusion. How confusing!

So again, I am no expert. But I decided to take in all this information and come up with my own thing.

In this case; the difference between a tea, and an infusion is the time that is used to steep the goodness out of the herb. I went with the infusion idea. But because an ounce by weight of oat straw is quite a lot, I decided to go with the 2 tablespoons. I also use some sprigs of mint in the infusion for the flavor.

strained and ready to drink hot or over ice

strained and ready to drink hot or over ice

This is what I do. I put 2 tablespoons of oat straw  and a couple of sprigs of mint in a quart jar. I pour boiling water over it to fill, and put a lid on it to steep for 4 hours. Then I strain it through a coffee filter set up. The left over fibrous straw and mint can go into the compost pile to help the microbes with their libido. I like lots of very happy microbes.  I drink this quart of oat straw infusion to replace one quart of the water that I drink per day.

I served this to the ladies at a gathering that I had at the farm yesterday. Steve did not get any (he needs no help in that department). Buy the time we were finished with our drinks, everyone was anxious to get home to their husbands.

Is it truly a magic potion? Maybe it is all in our heads. I think that if we believe that it works, then it will. So there. You can get oat straw to make your own infusion (or one for your wife) through my Mountain Rose Herb link.

Check back in a month when you will hear Steve say “Donna, you are killing me-stop drinking that stuff”.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oat straw for Your Health

  1. Sophie33 says:

    I never heard from this before! Now, I am interested very much so! 🙂

  2. Oh Good. Steve keeps trying to drink my infustion. I just tell him, if he drinks it then there is not enough for me. So he leaves it alone.

  3. anniesnomsblog says:

    This is so interesting! I have oatmeal every day for breakfast, but I had no idea about the straw being good for you. I need to try your method and make a tea/infusion!

Leave a Reply

