The Seeds that You Plant will Grow

Today is Steve’s birthday and I am exhausted. You see-around here; a birthday is a week long. We have had his kids come to stay, we have been playing with his grandkids, and going to dinner with friends-all week long.

This morning I took him to breakfast. I asked him what he wanted to do, his answer was that he was tired of going; he just wanted to stay home to get some stuff done.

I was happy to oblige. Especially since one of the things that he has been wanting to do was to help me get my March garden bed built. Lucky me!

It was while we were just getting started when a dear friend stopped by. She and I talked through the fence. During our conversation, I was saying so many good things about Steve that he finally looked up and said to my friend Mrs. J, “Is Donna telling stories?” Mrs. J replied,”Stories of admiration and adoration!”.

I loved that. We then spoke of how so many women will get together, and speak of the faults that they see in their husbands. Too few are ready to speak of the positive things.

My friend Mrs. J is a gardener too. I found another one of her comments very appropriate.

My friends and my readers know that I believe in magic. Not just any magic, but the magic of creation given to us by the original Creator. I believe that there is power behind our words. The power to change something.

Have you ever used a word to encourage someone else, then to see them realize that if you thought they could, then they probably could?

Have you ever used a discouraging word as an arrow, and see it land on its target and accomplishment its goal?

If you were a man listening to your wife talking to another woman about how you fail, how would you feel?

But if that wife were telling stories of “admiration and adoration”; how would that change things? You would run to the nearest telephone booth to change into the cape that she made for you!

So, would you like to know what my gardening friend said to me that made me  write this post?

She said “Donna, you and I are both gardeners and we both know that the seed that we sow-good or bad- WILL grow.”

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Steve and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Seeds that You Plant will Grow

  1. Elaine Moore says:

    I have just found your site and would love to subscribe so I don’t miss a single bit of advice. My daughter lives in Tucson and I will be moving down soon. We’re wanting to create a little farm-type area similar to what you’ve done. Is there any way to receive your posts via email???

    • Elaine, Thank you so much for reading. When you are on the home page a follow button will pop up in the lower right corner of the page. Press that. I have friends in Tucson that come to my monthly gatherings. I hope that you decide to come as well.

Leave a Reply

