Are Words Really Healing?

Beets and Cabbages

So much to be thankful for.

You bet’cha.

Magic, or miracle-you decide. I use the word magic a lot. But what I really mean is miracle. So now, whenever you see the word “Magic” or “Magical’; just think “Miracle”” or “Miraculous”.

Where did this come from? I will tell you.

Today while driving to school I called a friend that I had spent some time with yesterday. I called her to tell her how thankful I am for her friendship. I was not blowing smoke. I was just feeling it, and knew that it would bless her to hear it. I told her that I wanted to grow up to be like her. I could just imagine her beaming face as she replied “Well, that is funny; because I want to grow up to be like you!” Her words made me happy too.

How hard was that? It took less that one minute for two people to become very happy.

What followed was a very deep, and tender discussion. I won’t tell you all the details, because it was very spaghetti. You know; one thought lead to another, and most of you will get lost. But we got it! It is like that best friend in high school that knew you so well, that she could just tell what you were thinking when she looked in your eyes. Silly girls! I love it!

We talked about how we are made of energy, and how certain music reaches us to our very soul. I told her that is how I do my best worship-singing in my car-so that only He hears.

She told me a story about a momma camel that was healed through the vibration of music.

I told her that I never go to my garden if I am feeling mad about something. I am very conscious about the fact that I want the plants to feel the joy, and peace that they give me. I want them to know that I am thankful for them, and what they represent in my life.  I do however go to the garden when I am sad, or struggling with something. My garden is one of my coping mechanisms.

So is calling certain friends.

I told her that I choose joy in my life everyday. She told me that she feels that thankfulness is her pathway to joy.

Well, there you have it- we are back to thankfulness 

Then is when the good stuff came out.

We talked about words. About how the energy (positive, negative or neutral) behind a word can be picked up by the hearer. Unlike the nursery rhyme about “sticks and stones”;  words can hurt, and deeply. Some of us are tougher than others. But in my experience words can uplift as well, words can make us happy, or sad. Even the right words said in the wrong manner can hurt.

This was truly a beautiful conversation, and I could have missed it; if I had not opened that door by sharing the thankfulness that was in my heart at that moment.

I believe that we get busy sometimes, and forget about what we are saying, or even how we are saying the good stuff.

It is my goal to be more cognitive (thoughtful) about what I am saying, and how I say it. I want my words to be the magic, or miracle that someone else might need at that moment.

So go forth, find something to be thankful for. Find your joy and then speak to those that you care about. Tell them that you love them, or that you are thankful for them. You could even say something like “You are so amazing, I want to grow up to be like you.” Just see what happens.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are Words Really Healing?

  1. Alice SANTANA says:

    Date: Thu, 4 Feb 2016 01:24:01 +0000 To: alices1128@msn.com

  2. Alice SANTANA says:

    Donna, Thx for sharing this……. thought words DO do amazing things to relations, family, friends, even foe, if U have any. I will pass this on to my friends. Enjoy All UR e-mails, U have soooo many positive things to say ALWAYS

    ________________________________ Date: Thu, 4 Feb 2016 01:24:01 +0000 To: alices1128@msn.com

  3. Hello Alice my friend. There are so many sayings about getting more bees with honey. I try to remember that we all see ourselves as being “good”. Because of that, we are drawn to those who see the good in us too. It makes us feel better about ourselves when we are with them. If you are that person who can make others feel good about themselves, then you have many friends in deed. Old Chinese, (Irish) proverb that I just made up. Love you my friend.

Leave a Reply

