Gramma Donna’s Dehydrated Orange Smiley Faces

all ready for the dehydrator

all ready for the dehydrator

I have decided that oranges make me happy! They are bright and colorful, they are good  for you and there are so many wonderful things that you can do with them.

Yesterday my 8 month old  grandson Mason was here. I gave him an orange to play with. Of  coarse he tried to eat it. The face that he made got me laughing so hard, so he did it again, and again. It seems that he loves to make me laugh. It became a fun game. We made faces at each other for quite awhile. Finally, he threw it on the floor and went on to another adventure-like looking at the baby in the reflection of the stainless steel garbage can.

This last weekend, I had a gardening group to the farm for an exchange. I was truly overwhelmed at the generosity of all of the givers. One of the gardeners brought peeled, dehydrated oranges. They were amazing! They looked like oranges, and had a sweet as candy taste, but the texture was like “Cheese Puffs!” Gimme that bag!

So, guess what I have been doing for the last couple of days.

Inspired by Mason-I decided to make smiley face orange slices to dehydrate. I did not peel them, so that they would hold together. It took 24 hours on the 135 degree setting. What I found accidently is that once dehydrated; the peel even tasted delicious!

Dehydrated Blood oranges with our salad

Dehydrated orange slices with our salad

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Oranges and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gramma Donna’s Dehydrated Orange Smiley Faces

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Dehydrating oranges, What else do,you use them,for? What kind of tasty recipes? Or for home-made orange tea? Yum!

  2. I’ve never tried dehydrated oranges. I’ve only seen those used in potpourri!

    • Merry, I took a one gallon zip lock bag to nursing school with me this week. There about 20 in our class. Most of them said the same thing that you did about potpourri. But they ate them…all! Next week, I will be bringing goat cheese for them to try.

Leave a Reply

