Gramma Donna’s Delicious Butternut Squash Soup

delicious Butternut Squash soup

delicious Butternut Squash soup

So I wrote the post about January being soup month and I talked about my soup. I got off track-talking about using bone broth as the base. It was too important to leave out. But then, when I was taking the picture for the post; we got hungry, and ate the soup (and the bread). Then we got tired and went to bed.

So today, I received some messages asking for the recipe. So, here it is. I will go back and put a link in the other post so that I do not frustrate anyone.

I am working on getting a print button installed. But for now this is all I have to work with.

Thank you for your patience.

Gramma Donna’s Delicious Butternut Soup

1 Butternut Squash peeled, and cut into chunks-I like to roast mine; on a foil lined sheet pan at 375 degrees until tender. But you could simmer it in your bone broth  til very tender.

4 cups of chicken stock (use bone broth if you can)

Put your cooled squash, and broth in the blender to puree til souper smooth. Most people like it better than way.

It is at this point that I pour it into 1 quart wide mouth canning jars. I fill the jar just to the shoulder to allow for expansion. I do not put a lid on it, and then put it in the freezer.

Ready to eat? Thaw it out, then add some salt, pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne (more if it is a cold night) you can add a cup of cream, or float goat cheese on it. Chopped green onions make it pretty, and add a delicate hint of onion.

Now, add some toasted home made bread with homemade butter made from your friend’s cow, and prepare to be called Goddess. Ok, maybe not. But Steve says it-sometimes.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Bone broth, bread, Butternut Squash, canning jars, goat cheese. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gramma Donna’s Delicious Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I was planning to make some butternut squash soup soon. I didn’t even know it was soup month. Now I just need some yummy goat cheese to add to it!

  2. Sophie33 says:

    A simple soup yet utterly delicious! 🙂

  3. Lina says:

    I can’t wait to try this! The very name of the recipe is soooooooo inviting!

Leave a Reply

