These Boots Were Made for Walkin…

My mud boots

My mud boots

Through the mud!

We who live in the desert are amazing at growing gardens in drought conditions. We know how to keep our animals hydrated, and comfortable. Most of us choose plants and livestock breeds that were bred for heat tolerance. We try to purchase property that has access to flood irrigation and some of us practice water harvesting from our roofs.

It is very rare that we get rain for more than a couple of days in a row.

But this week, we are being told that Phoenix is the new Seattle. We have had rain for several days and  nights.

I love everything about it. I love that all of my 55 gallon  barrels are overflowing with an ABUNDANCE of water. I love the sound of the rain on the flat roof of our house. I love that because our animals are protected from the summer sun with tops to their pens, they are also protected from the rain. I love that when I  heard the weather predicting so much rain, I went to my wood chip pile and hauled several loads to put in my goat and chicken pen so that they would not be wallowing in the mud.

Goats hate mud, they are deathly afraid of rain, of water, of the hose, of the sprinkler…you get it.

I even  love getting to slosh around in my mucking boots. No, I did not  buy the fancy pretty ones. These came from a yardsale. Brand new in the box for 5 bucks. I love that too. They are easy to slip  on, they have great rubberish soles so that I do not slip on the wet tile outside. Though I carry a rake with me, because if I sink in a collapsed gopher hole, I can use the rake to push my way out.

These are boots that will last a lifetime for irrigation and rainy conditions.

When we bought this house, we were told that we had a “Mud Room” I just laughed and put my milk fridge and my freezer in there. But I had made a lovely home for these boots in there too.

Enjoy the rain while it lasts.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

