Foliar Feeding with Worm Tea

Freshly Harvested Worm Tea

Freshly Harvested Worm Tea

I have a dirty little secret. I keep worms in my living room. Disgusting I know. However, if you do it right, there are no flies, gnats or smell. I teach a class in my home on “How to properly keep pet composting worms.”

Any way, once a week I harvest about 1 gallon of cloudy worm tea. I can use it straight in my gardens, potted plants, or in the well around my citrus trees. My trees are spoiled rotten now. Just ask them. They will tell you. They are thankful though.

Anyway, one of the best things that I do with this stuff is I strain it, and put it in a spray bottle. The straining part is to keep the spray bottle from clogging up. Then I spray my plants until they are dripping wet. I do this as often as I can. Sometimes every day, sometimes once a week, depending on how busy my schedule is.

I have heard that this gets into the pores of the plants and  helps them become more disease and pest resistant. I believe that first thing the morning is the best time to do this. I do not know that for a  fact, I just think that plants are more receptive to everything good in the morning.

This is how  I strain the  tea.

This is meant for a coffee cup. Put the used filter with the solid bits in the compost.

This is meant for a coffee cup. Put the used filter with the solid bits in the compost.

Here is my worm bin. I just checked today. There are lots of happy worms in there.

For a worm, there is no place like home.

For a worm, there is no place like home.

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in worm tea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foliar Feeding with Worm Tea

Leave a Reply

