There is Nothing Stronger than the Heart of a Volunteer

My mom volunteered to come and live with me to help take care of my grandson while I was in nursing school. She babysits 3 days a week. But what does she do with rest of her time?

She is 79 and fit as a fiddle. She has almost as much energy as me, and goes a little stir        crazy when she has nothing to do; so she keeps herself busy.

I have been searching for opportunities for her to get out there and make a few friends of her own. I finally found it today.

My mom grew up with horses and still dreams of having her own again someday. She spent time volunteering with a Premarin Mare foundation back in Tucson. But since I do not have horses here, she really misses them.

Today I had the opportunity to speak with Sheila. Sheila owns Clydesdales and is part of USACPF.org She is part of a foundation that is  supporting the preservation of this beautiful breed. Did you know that there are less that 6,000 of these animals left in the world?

Sheila lives a straight shot about 5 miles down the road from us. Guess who is going to be hanging out over there volunteering on her days off. Yep, you guessed it. My 79 year old 4’11” mom.

When I shared this news with mom, you would have thought that she won the lottery. I introduced her to Sheila and I can tell that they will get alone very well.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

