Creative Writing- or is it Really Listening?

I was really never that great in English. I got by, but it was never my favorite subject. FFA and Science were my favorites. That only makes sense if you see where that has taken me.

I started this blog not because I am a great writer, but to share my thoughts on the miracles and abundance that I have experienced in my life. There are also secrets that I would like to share as well. Not all at once, or I would probably be locked up for lunacy: so you will have to stay tuned to get bits at a time.

Here is a safe one though. How does someone who grew up poor and who has experienced single motherhood feel so rich now? It really is not just now. I have always felt rich. Even when I was a teenager; sharing clothes with my sisters so that we did not have to wear the same thing every day.

Though I do claim to be tapped  in to a special magic, I do not claim to have discovered the only way.  We are all different in how we perceive things, I can only share from my experience. I really do not belong to a special church, but I have a strong faith in a God who not only cares for and listens to us; but He speaks to us as well. It takes a lot of practice to hear what He might have to say. Some call it a conscious, some call it a still small voice. I like to call it God. I find that the more practice I get at listening, the better I get at hearing.

Steve says that I have a special connection. But I think that I just have practiced a lot. Probably because of times when I felt like I really needed God to help me get through stuff.

I forget that not everyone practices the art of listening. Last night I shared with a group of new friends; that when we were looking for a farm, I did not want this place. I had another property that I had my heart set on. But Steve wanted this one. I had a dream though that these poor sad orange trees were dying from neglect and were calling for me to help them. I woke up the next morning and told Steve that he was right and that we needed to buy this property.

These new friends asked “What did you do to your trees? They were neglected for so long by the previous owners, but now they look better than any others in the neighborhood.” I answered “I will tell you, but you may not want to be my friend after you hear what I have to say” They encouraged me to go on. I told them that while the place was in a 60 day escrow I made the 45 minute drive and brought some 100 foot hoses to water the trees 2-3 times per week. While I watered each one, I touched the tree and talked to it. I prayed over it, and encouraged it to hang in there until we could get here.

Now that we are here-Steve, my mom and I all spend a lot of time with the trees. We know that some will have to be culled, but we will be slow to make those decisions. These trees are 62 years old. It would be a shame to take any down that could  come back.

Why did I do that? It may sound crazy to some I know. But I felt compelled to do it. Now look at the results. I kind of live my life that way. If I feel compelled to do something good, I just do it.

My suggestion for you my friend? If you feel compelled to do something good, no matter how small, that is in your power to do so. Just do it, without any expectation. Then get in the habit of doing it on a regular basis.

It will not be long before you experience the magic that I speak of.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in magic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

