Living Life Transparently

I heard this phrase many years ago from a friend who was a pastor. I liked it so much that I have adopted not only the phrase, but have also tried my best to do it.

I have also found that being open and honest about my life, my joys, and my struggles have helped others as well.

One of the best parts about living a transparent life is that you get to know who your real friends are. They are the ones who crow along with you when you are successful, and cry with you when you struggle.

I have been working very hard the last 2 years as a nursing student in one of the top 5% schools in the county. My first block I passed with an A. My second block I passed with a B. My third block I got a lower B. My fourth block I would have received a C. But you cannot pass the block with a C. The night that my grade was posted I was shocked. I missed passing by 1/2 of a point.

It took my about an hour of shock and denial. I called my instructor. She was shocked as well. I was after all the class leader. I know everyone in the class, I had been encouraging each of them at different times. I was even a mentor for goodness sake!

When Steve came home, I told him. He too was shocked. He said “But Donna, no matter how busy you are, you always seem to slide into home just under the catcher’s mitt.” Steve loves his baseball.

He was upset, he wanted to blame the school or the teacher. He wanted to fix it for me. I just told him to hold me when I cried. And cry I did, but not for long. Because I have coping skills and know how to use them.

I called my friends- you know, the ones that I knew would cry with me and tell me that I was smart, and will still make a good nurse. I know people who would not be so supportive. I know some that would actually be judgmental. They are not the ones that I chose to call. I still love them, but that is not what I need right  now.

So, I and 7 other of my block 4 classmates will do block 4 over again. We will be better nurses for it.  We will get more opportunities to practice our skills. (Oh no! Here comes that student nurse again with the urinary catheter!)

I got a text from an old friend that failed block 2. We lost touch when she had to repeat block 2. She is part of the group that I will now be repeating block 4 with. She said that she is scared to death of Block 4 and was happy to see that I would be there with her. You know? That made me feel good. 16 more weeks is such a small part of the big picture. Maybe God has something different for me than I had originally thought.

My graduation date will be moved up to May 2016. But for now, I will practice my coping skills. While my original cohort are loosing out on the beautiful weather and the holidays; I have 2 months off. I will be sleeping in, gathering with my friends and family and snuggling with my two new grandsons.

I hope that by writing this post, I can be an encouragement to someone else who may not have succeeded at something on the first try.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living Life Transparently

  1. TiffanyD says:

    I know God has a plan for this – can’t be any other reason.

  2. Treasa Birchett says:

    I am very proud of you for what you have accomplished so far. Someone in that class really needs you there. You will do this one with ease

Leave a Reply

