We all have an Abundance of Something

I collect cute salt and pepper shakers.

I collect cute salt and pepper shakers.

I have always loved that word. Abundance!

It is not that I am a hoarder. Although I have called myself one at times. I love cookbooks, garden books, salt and pepper shakers and canning jars. I love quilting fabric (yes, I have a stash and I know how to use it).

Steve likes to collect things too. He also loves to go yard sailing, so between the two of us; we got some serious stuff.

I am also creating abundance with my gardens, chickens, goats and pig. We have 20 citrus trees and several new fruit trees. I will be planting grapes and berries as well.

I have a group of friends that I speak the language of abundance with. We barter, I have lots of basil, one has lots of cilantro ( imagine that basil and cilantro all year long), another has lots of chamomile. We get together and we trade. Someone needs a farm sitter, the other needs some milk and eggs. Walla, a great excuse to barter. I know, this is addicting. It is habit forming-this happy sharing of each other’s abundance.

But we could take it in a different direction too. I have always felt that I have had more than I need. Don’t get me wrong. We grew up poor and even in my adult life, I have experience; many times when I did not know how I was going to pay the bills. But abundance to me is more of a feeling than a having.

I was just talking to a neighbor the other day. She mentioned that her husband is getting older and cannot offer the physical help like he used to. But he has a tractor and knows how to use it. He likes to help the neighbors with his tractor. If you look, you will find abundance.

Stay tuned my friends. Because in the coming new year we will unfold for your reading pleasure, the abundance of my new community in this new little neighborhood.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Abundance, community. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We all have an Abundance of Something

  1. Kathy says:

    Look forward to reading this! Tips on how to build a community and find other like minded folks would be appreciated too 🙂

    • Kathy,
      Thank you for your encouragement. You bet, I am just learning as I go and will gladly share the ups and the downs. I am actually currently mentoring others who are starting this process in their own areas.

Leave a Reply

