Cody-The Chicken Guardian

The Chicken Tender

The Chicken Tender

You remember Cody; my rescue “farm” dog? Well, not really. But he is a rescue and the most loving dog that I have ever owned.

I realized when I got him that I would need to go slow with him. At only a year old, he was still afraid of so many things; mostly being left. We do not know anything about him really prior to 4 months old. He was rescued from a shelter and then adopted out. He ended up back at the shelter. His rescuer came and got him, contacted the adoptive family and they told her that they no longer wanted him.

When I adopted him, it was for life. But I knew that I had some work to do. Cody lives on my foot, or so he would like.

His bed is a crate in the office. This helps him with his abandonment issues. He gets to experience me coming back every single time.  We now have a routine. At bedtime, when I reach for the bag of his favorite treats, he joyfully runs to his crate opens the door and gets in waiting for me to arrive with his bedtime snack. He is a fun boy!

When he is bored, or is pouting about something; he will get in his crate and shut the door.

I had to teach him to stay out of the kitchen, so that I would not trip over him. So when I am in the kitchen, he lays across the threshold of the kitchen. It was easy to train him. He is very eager to please me.

As a matter of fact, as long as I go slow and make myself perfectly clear and consistent, he learns very fast.

Now- he lets me walk in the door first and then waits for me to give him the signal to come in. He is getting better about jumping on my girl friends. I am still trying to get him to stop sniffing crotches (to say hell0). He knows that he is only allowed to play rough with boys/men.  He walks/runs the property with us and does not try to run down the street.  Steve likes to walk the property at night and let Cody run. I like to do that in the morning.

Now Cody’s big thing is guarding the chickens. I let him spend a few hours everyday in the chicken pen while I do chores. Of coarse, he would rather be with me. But I cannot watch him. So he lays there and watches me from the pen. When he can no longer see me, he talks to the chickens.

The most important thing that he has learned though, is that I will always come back. So he is much more calm and willing to learn all that we are asking him to do.

After a long day of farm dog school.

After a long day of farm dog school.

Cody is turning out to be a  wonderful “Gentleman Farm Dog”.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Cody, Farm dog, Livestock Guardian, Mascot. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cody-The Chicken Guardian

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    Sounds like you have a friend for life, his life I mean. Congrats on your progress.

  2. Lydia Noyes says:

    Beautiful photos and what a cutie of a dog! 🙂 Since you seem to have experience with farm dogs, maybe you can help me out. My crazy Australian shepherd mix has been very naughty recently and my husband and I are at our wits end! If you don’t mind, please read this post and let me know if you have any advice about dog behavior and psychology. http://livingechoblog.com/farm-dog-misbehavior/

    • I read your post Lydia. I am not a trainer or an expert. I just pay close attention to the animals and try to figure it out. Every dog is different and their experience is different too. Cody still cowers at the slightest reprimand. He is deathly afraid of the fly swatter too. I do not yell, or hit him with ANYTHING. But I do use a choke collar and drag him, if I have to. I use homemade liver cookies because he cannot resist. I carry them in the pocket of my windbreaker, in a plastic bag. He sleeps in a crate in the house and yes- if he was a barker, I would us a shock collar. I would rather be tough in the beginning; in order to have a forever dog-rather than to be forced to get rid of him. Wendell’s problems may go deeper than Cody’s. You may try building him a kennel outside for his “Den” to protect him from coyotes. This would also give you a smaller space to work with him. He will get used to a choke chain and learn to come on the leash. A bark collar would help too. During the day teach him about liver cookies equaling love, and carry them around with you, until he perceives that you smell like one. It may take a lot of patience to get Wendell to become more like the dog that fits into your family, Cody is still a work in progress. But then again, so am I. Good luck, give Wendell a big hug for me.

Leave a Reply

