I am even sharing a pig.

Pixie is a Kune Kune

Pixie is a Kune Kune

One of the things that I wanted to do when we got moved was get a pig. Not just any pig! No sirree! I researched Kune Kunes and found that they would fit perfectly into my plans.

I have friends who keep pigs. They breed them and sell the babies, but that momma pig gets too big for my comfort. Transporting a 300 plus lb pig every year to get bred would truly be a “big fat pain”. Not to mention the fact that those big pigs eat a lot all year round.

Kune Kune ladies get to be about 150#. They are perfectly happy grazing on pasture, garden scraps and whey. They do not need grain. They bond with their humans, and are very tame. They can be bred once a year and have 6-10 babies in each litter.

A friend of mine, Ms. C, had a Kune Kune sow that had a litter of piglets. Ms. C ended up keeping one of the babies and raising her as a pet to adulthood.

Knowing my interest in the breed, she contacted me after I got moved. She had to find a new home for Ms Pixie and  would I like to purchase her for a really good price. Kune Kunes can start at 1,000, but I could have this special pet for only 600.

Needless to say my answer was yes- but. I did not yet have the fencing required to house this funny girl. So I mentioned this to a group of girl friends. My suggestion was that the one in our group (who had the facilities) could keep the pig and the other 3 of us could split the cost of the pig. I have a couple of connections that own boy pigs. Once we get our new pig bred and she has babies, we can split the litters in 4 directions.

My hope is that by the time Ms Pixie weans her babies, I can have one or two (depending on the size of the litter).  I definitely want one female for breeding and if there are more; then I could have one male to raise on my pasture for the freezer.

After each person in our group is satisfied with the outcome, we can come together again and decide whether we want to continue or just move on with our own pigs.

This is the kind of thing that you can do when you build a network of very awesome friends who want to share life’s abundance together.

My thanks to Ms C for  allowing us to purchase Ms Pixie at such a great price, and Ms. S for keeping the pig at your place.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Kune Kune, Pigs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

