D is for Dirt

Lots of dirt

Lots of dirt

Whaaaat? Of all the things that I could have chosen. Desserts, Ducks, or Dogs. Why dirt?

Because I wanted to. Sorry. No, really. There is so much of it here. But actually I love dirt, soil, or mud.  I love the smell of it. I love kneeling down in it. I love the feel of it in my hands. Dirt is one of the ingredients in my magical compost.  I have experimented with several garden mediums and the winner is…yep, you guessed it; dirt!

When we first moved here. The  whole acre and a quarter was dirt. When the wind blew, it blew the dirt. Even inside the house is very dusty. But that is changing my friends. A little bit (ok thousands of gallons) of water is going to change all of that in time for the “G” post. Green, Grass, and Goats eating Green Grass.

I love dirt. All it needs is some composted material and some seeds and then you have another G word- Garden!

Hooray for dirt, and hooray for gardens.

Enough silliness. Time for bed. “G” ood night.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Alpabet song, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

