Dirt Dwellers

Click here to see the first video of my little farm.

Life Giving Water

We had a party here on Saturday. It went from noon to midnight and what fun we had.

I called it an open house. People came and went as they pleased. We had family that stayed the night and friends that came from all parts of the valley and even one friend that came all the way from RimRock! Thank you Mr S for coming.

It certainly felt like home. One of the couples that came are from up (or down) the street. They have only been in the neighborhood for about a year. They were very nice and mentioned to me that our neighborhood has been referred to as “The Dirt Dwellers”. The properties in this area have been neglected for quite some time and many of the lots are mostly dirt.

Yesterday another couple came to visit and said that our neighborhood was referred to as “The Dirt People”. I get it. Our lot was nothing but dirt and sand when we moved in the first of the month. It is true. I dust my house one day and the next day everything is covered in dust again. But I know just how to change that.

What is the difference between a desert and an oasis? Water. So I started ordering 1 1/2 hours of flood irrigation every other week. Steve is not home when it is our turn for water, so I have been playing the role of water boss. Wearing my mucking boots and taking a shovel out to watch the berms as the water rushes over our property. The first time that the water started rushing across our land, I wanted to get tiny plastic toy cows and put them down in “the rushing river” and sing the theme song to “Rawhide”. It was really pretty exciting.

As you can see in the video- weeds are starting to grow. The Bermuda will take a little longer, but it will come and crowd the weeds out. It will take some time, but it will happen.

I am very proud to be a dirt dweller, but I will soon become known in these parts as a     “Soil Lover” But first I need to build it. Stay tuned as Donna builds her gardens by enriching the soil.

Cut ’em out, ride ’em in,  Ride ’em in, let ’em out, Cut ’em out, ride ’em in
Rawhide!

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in The New Farm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

