How to Become a Real Gentleman

Cody and Mom

Cody and Mom

I live with mom and her mate “dad”. Dad says that he does not like dogs, but I know that is not true. He pets me and talks to me. He laughs when I greet him at the gate when he comes home from work. He calls me “Beastie Boy, Marmaduke and Big Fella”. This family has lots of names for everyone.

I do not let mom get out of my site. She sits at her computer most of the day studying. I lay on her feet under the desk. When she gets up to go to the bathroom; I get sad when she closes the door. One day, she left me in the front yard and drove down the street. I found a way to get out and tried to follow her. I got lost and went to visit some neighbors. But mom came looking for me. When she found me, she was crying. People are silly. I hopped in the back of the car and mom took me home.

I do not like it when mom leaves, I am afraid that she will not come back. But she always does. Sometimes she leaves me in the crate, sometimes in the front yard. I worry, but she always comes back. I am starting to feel better about it now.

I play rough with dad and his son, but mom does not want me to play rough in the house, or with her. I am very gentle with mom.

At night, we hear the coyotes in the back property-dad gets up and opens the back door and lets me bark at them. Then they shut up and we go back to bed. Stupid things.

I am still a puppy even though I weigh 80 lbs. I try to get in mom’s lap all the time. Sometimes she lets me.

When I first came here to live, mom let me sleep in a crate next to her bed, now  the crate is in the guest room. She says that it is part of my training. She loves that I love her, but she wants me to be more independent. Today I actually went into the other room and chewed on my cow hoof for about a half hour. The room was dark, mom came and turned on the light and just looked at me. I could tell that she missed me, so  I went back into the office and laid on her feet.

Mom says that it is going to take some time to make me a “real gentleman”. But that is ok.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Cody, Farm dog, Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Become a Real Gentleman

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    So cute and congrats on your new place

  2. Thank you Joe. please consider coming out on the 27th. Steve and I will be here from noon to ? and we have invited friend family and neighbors to stop and see what we are up to.

Leave a Reply

