Neighbors can be heroes too!

Hi Ho Silver

Hi Ho Silver

We have been spending a lot of time moving stuff to the new “farm” home.

The house that we have lived in for the past 8 years is under contract in just 7 days on the market.

One of the first things that Steve noticed about the farm; is that the driveway that leads to the garage needs burmed up to keep any water from flowing into the garage. So he ordered 14 tons of dirt to  be placed at the end of the driveway.

Once it was dumped, in nice neat little piles across the base of the driveway, it needed to be raked and tamped down, so that we could drive over it.

A few nights ago, Steve headed out to the dirt piles and I was unloading stuff from my car. When I heard a loud rumble from our new next door neighbors house. We had been for a chat the night before and they are a very nice couple. She is from California and he is from Texas. Though he is 70 (ish) he still has a lovely deep baretone voice. (sigh)

Anyway, back to my story. I looked to see what the noise was and saw our own personal Texas Ranger, wearing his white cowboy hat and driving his tractor towards our house. I smiled to myself, because I realized that our new friend wanted to be a hero and Steve was just about to be rescued.

I went out back and took some pictures of our new friend from Texas using his tractor to make short work of those huge piles of dirt.

Making Friends in All the Right Placesl

Making Friends in All the Right Placesl

Soon his wife came over on her riding lawn mower. I have secretly dubbed it Scout. She and I had a great time visiting. Soon they took off in a cloud of dust.

I turned to Steve and said “Who was that masked man?” He said “Oh, he’s the Lone Ranger” I could just hear them saying “Gettem up Scout” and “Hi-Ho Silver and away!”

More heroes for us.

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in The New Farm, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

