Mary Poppins in the Garden

Mary to the rescue!

Mary to the rescue!

One of the sad things about cabbages is that even when I space out the planting, they all come up at once. I have tried sprouting them in toilet paper tubes 2 weeks apart, and they still seem to wait for the others to catch up. I currently have 10 red and green cabbages that are all ready to harvest within a week or two of each other. I like cabbage, don’t get me wrong, it a couple of heads goes a long way.

Steve is not overly fond of it, so I get creative. I hide it in salads and sandwiches. That works for green cabbage, but he is pretty sharp and knows red cabbage when he sees it. I have started playing with fermenting cabbage and that will take up some of this healthy cruciferous. But I have another secret that I learned from Mary Poppins.

Red cabbage

Red cabbage

So, how do I get Steve to eat red cabbage? The same way that I get him to try other things that he turns his nose up at.

Everybody sing along. “Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down…”

So, I googled “Sweet and Sour Cabbage”. I made it, he loved in and I am happy, because we ate a half a head of cabbage in one setting. Now that he knows that he likes it, I will make up some more for him to take to work for his lunch next week. We do not want to over do. Cabbage can be gassy. Unh ooh! Oh well, we will stay warm tonight- “in the most delightful way”

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mary Poppins in the Garden

  1. I ferment my cabbage. People who don’t like sauerkraut, like fermented sauerkraut. People who don’t generally like cabbage like fermented sauerkraut. Lasts forever, too! So you don’t have to eat it all at once.

  2. Good for you Georgene. I have a fermenting mentor. No she is not sitting in a crock with salt and whey! She teaches me about fermenting cabbage, a number of veggies and fruit. I have dubber her the ferment mentor of the farm. I hope that she will come and teach my friends when we have the room to play.

Leave a Reply

