The Conversion is Almost Complete

Boys and their toys!

Boys and their toys!

When I first met Steve, he was a city boy through and through. He drove a two door Mustang, he wore a suit and tie to work; and he lived in an HOA. What did we ever see in each other? Well, we met at a Christian single’s dance. He was playing scrabble with the older ladies in the back- and I wanted to dance and play. He was intriguing to me because he was the only guy in the room that I had not danced with.

Someone told him that he was not a good dancer, someone else had told him that he could not carry a tune. I started teasing him and getting him to come out on the dance floor. After several years of just playing, he has lost his shyness. Now he is a 2-stepping Waltz-er who will sing me a love sing. Lucky me!

Steve never quite understood why I would spend so much time planting and tending to vegetable plants, when he could afford to buy me enough vegetables at the store. It took a much longer time for him to understand why I would want to raise my own meat. He was not sure about eating eggs that my pet chickens produced and he thought that raw milk was just gross.

Now he eats our chicken’s eggs for breakfast; stuffed with raw goat’s milk cheese. He eats the sourdough bread that I make; slathered with butter that I make from raw cow’s cream. Though he prefers the taste of raw goat milk, he is ok with the cow milk when the goat is dried up.

He loves the raw goat milk yogurt with a spoonful of homemade jam, and is disappointed when the goat milk, vanilla ice cream tub in the freezer is empty.

The toughest part of this whole thing for him was the meat. But he is coming around. He is talking about a certain riding lawn mower that he wants to buy. It has a plow attachment and a disc. He shared with me the other day that he wanted to raise alfalfa for our animals. He asked if I knew where he could find some non-gmo alfalfa seeds. He said that he was concerned about eating meat that was fed GMO alfalfa. Well, (as my grandpa used to say)who da thunk? Me. I did! I just new that it would take some time.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Steve. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Conversion is Almost Complete

  1. I have my very own hubby who is halfway to the conversion. He’s on board with the gardening and food, but still will need convincing for chickens, rabbits and goats. All in good time, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

