Livestock Guardian Animals

Livestock Guardian Animals

Livestock Guardian Animals

My next research project for the farm is “Livestock Guardian Animals”.

Although the property that we are in the process of purchasing has flood irrigation, the current owner is not allowing the irrigation to be ordered while he still owns it. I do understand his point. With a little bit of water, the weeds that are currently on the lot would soon be 3 ft tall. The soil is quite fertile after all. If escrow does not close as expected, he would have to pay a tractor to come and drag the lot again before relisting the property.

The bad thing about that is that there are some beautiful plants and trees that are suffering out there, so I go over twice a week with 3 (100 foot) hoses and give everything a nice long drink. This takes about 2 hours (you are welcome current owner).

The happy news is the neighbors have been coming over to meet me. I was asked by one neighbor, if I was the “angel” that they have been praying for- to come and breathe life back into the old orange orchard. How nice! Why yes, I am.

I have been told by the neighbors that there are coyotes that will terrorize my animals and that I will need a dog to deter them.

Steve recently lost his little terrier “Lucky” and we were not actually thinking about getting a dog. But it makes sense. So I will be researching that very subject and let you know what I find out.

Stay tuned for next time when you will hear me offer Steve a choice; Dog, Llama or Donkey 😉

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Livestock Guardian Animals

  1. Mary Beth says:

    We had a similar experience. We bought a house 4 years ago during a drought. The temperature every day was over 100 degrees and closing on the house took a long time. The house is on well water and the power was turned off so everyday I would haul in 5 gallon buckets of water to pour on the plants to try and save them. I was able to save the bushes and roses but we lost most of the trees on the property. So sad – some of them were walnut trees.

  2. cg517carma says:

    YIKES! coyotes! I don’t think it will matter what animal you have to make them stay away thou………hungry is hungry to them….everything will look yummy! I don’t want your animals to be “food” to them………….

Leave a Reply

