More Goats for Us!

 

So, we have talked about goats. I have told you what my plans were. I even promised that I would share each step along the way. I have been pretty patient, I only hope that I have not lost any of my beloved readers along the way.

Now that we have a hobby farm under contract, I have been sharing my excitement with my friends. One of my farmer friends and I got to chatting. His turn to talk. He has two Nubian ladies that he needed to breed in order to re-freshen them. You (my dear reader)may already know that you must breed a cow or a goat every year or so, in order to keep receiving milk from her. When you do this, (year after year) eventually you end up with more goats than you need and find yourself forced to re-home some kids. He is in such a position. He has some kids to re-home. Two of them are little girls.

Sharing Life's Abundance Belle

Sharing Life’s Abundance Belle

My turn to talk. I plan on keeping my Nigerian doe (Bambi), because I love the Nigerian milk. I may even end up with two Nigerians (now that I have a bigger place to keep them). I love this special milk for yogurt, and ice cream too.

I would also like to explore the art of cheese making, but one batch of cheddar takes 2 gallons of milk. That is a lot. Then we would end up with far more whey than I could use.

I have also been talking to other farmer friends who raise pigs by feeding them milk, garden scraps and pasture. But I know that 2-3 qrts of Nigerian milk per day would not be enough to feed a pig. Enter the next step of my plan.

Two Nubian ladies once bred, could give me 2-3 gallons of milk per day. Can you say “Cheese?”

His turn to talk. I (Donna) have some stuff in my backyard that he (my farmer friend) wanted. So we shook hands. He is coming to pick up the stuff this weekend, and his two baby goats will be coming to live with me, once we get moved.

In keeping with the Disney names for my goat herd, we are naming the little girls Belle and Elsa.  Elsa is the white one, nibbling on her brother’s ear. (No Elsa, he only looks like a chocolate goat.)

Sharing Life's Abundance  Elsa

Sharing Life’s Abundance Elsa

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Goats for Us!

  1. cg517carma says:

    Oh my gosh I am soooo Jealous that you have goats Plus they are pretty cute too! I wish I lived closer to you!

  2. Shelly says:

    What cuties! What do you feed your goats? I took a Goat 101 class and the teacher recommended alfalfa, alfalfa, and alfalfa. 🙂

    • Shelly, my goat gets alfalfa and barley fodder when she is being milked. She also gets fruit and keifir. She loves keifir. I have been giving her soaked oats and barley sprouts with some molasses as her grain. When she is not being milked, she gets whatever she wants from the garden and bermuda. I do not have to be careful about feeding her something that will make the milk taste funny when she is dry.

Leave a Reply

