This Farm Shopping is….

… a fun, frustrating, exhausting, roller coaster ride.

For those of you just tuning in, Steve and I have been searching for a hobby farm for Ms Abigail. She wants to raise healthy-organic food year round; for our large family. Between Steve and I, there are 7 grown children, 4 spouses (spice?) and 7 (soon to be 8 or 9) grandchildren.

I sold my rental house last June. It was the house that I raised my two children in. I rented it out once the kids were grown and I married Steve.  We are in the process of selling this home and purchasing a future home on an acre of irrigated land.

Although this home is beautiful, Steve has been very particular about making sure that all the details are just right before hanging out the “For Sale” sign.

Fortunately we are pre-qualified for the amount that we wish to spend on our future place; so we have been searching patiently ( ahem ).

If you have been following on Facebook, you know that we found a place that we completely adored. The property had the farm charm that I was after and the house had the newer look that Steve desired. It also had a shop for Steve (everybody say “Awww!”)

Though the house had been on the market over 80 days, there were 23 showings and we were the only offer; we were strung along while a divorced couple bickered over the court ordered sale. Steve and I were both dreaming about where we would put gardens, trees and animal pens. But we were recently told that this battle could tie up the property for a very long time. So sadly, the search continued.

Could this be the one?

Could this be the one?

Our second choice is also lovely; in a very different way. It is Spanish Territorial (can you say “hacienda”?) – red brick and  wrought iron, but with brand new- updated everything inside. (It feels quite fancy actually, how will I ever deal with it?) It lends itself to visions of vining flowers and hanging pots of herbs  It was part of an orange orchard, it is irrigated and the soil is just yummy! No, I did not taste it, a true gardener would understand that term though. I am pretty passionate about the soil.

The property is full of a wonderful mix of pasture grass and weeds (did she say weeds?) that would delight even the pickiest of goats, sheep, pigs, chickens and maybe even a bovine (Google it). This  place  will certainly challenge my imagination of how to make it look like the quaint little farm of my dreams. Do not worry, I long for the chance at a challenge like this. Besides I also have some very creative friends. Steve and I put in an offer and hope to hear back by the end of the week, whether we are the new owners or not. Meanwhile, we have scoped out several 3rd choices.

I feel like watching an old episode of “The High Chaparral”. Who remembers Big John and Uncle Buck, or my mom’s favorite-Manolito. My mom… she also loved Barnabus Collins in “Dark Shadows”. Ok stop, I am scaring myself.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in The New Farm, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Farm Shopping is….

  1. Shelly says:

    How wonderful! If you end up getting your second choice let me know as this house is just down the street from mine! It is a wonderful neighborhood. We love it! 🙂

    • Shelly, Steve just mentioned tonight “How are we going to meet the neighbors? The lots seem so far apart” I told him that I plan to just walk around knocking on people’s door and asking them to be my friend. 🙂 He just rolled his eyes at me. We countered back tonight. I think that we will win the Hacienda.
      .

      • Shelly says:

        Tell Steve not to worry, that’s a great plan! For us, it was having kids that wanted to meet every other kid in a half mile radius. 🙂 It’s a lovely house that looks like it has some history. Keep me posted and the next time you are out this way (for inspections, etc.) please stop by! Email me and I’ll send you my address.

  2. thank you Shelly.We will have fun learning from each other. i though about the history thing. I was built in 1982 on 5 acres. Somebody had fun there at one time. I expect to have fun there as well. I will share more pictures with everyone, if we get it. We should know by 6;00 pm tonight.

Leave a Reply

