Another Gem

Opal

Opal

Today was Steve’s birthday. So when he asked me to go yardsaling with him, I agreed. He goes e-v-e-r-y Saturday. I go sometimes, but most days lately with school and all, I just do not take the time.

Anyway, when you go yard saling-you follow the signs, you park in front of the yard sale host’s  home. You mumble hello, they mumble back. It is early and no body has drunk enough coffee yet.

But one lady was different. She seemed shy, but friendly; I liked her right away. I asked her a couple of questions to see if she was friend material. She was. As she slowly warmed up to me, she shared that she was planning on moving soon. I kept up the line of questioning, blowing on the kindling, until the she went from warm to glowing with a her shy passion. Once she realized that she had a friendly audience, she told me how her life’s dream to live on a lake was going to finally come true.

We chatted for a bit, but I noticed how happy she looked. She reminded me of a soft opal, calm on the outside, with a glow just under the surface.

We exchanged contact information, with the promise of keeping in touch, and that my friends, makes me happy.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

