Dehydrated Foods-Pear Candy

A Jar of Pear Candy

A Jar of Pear Candy

Got your attention didn’t I? Well this got Steve’s attention too.

I have been talking about my favorite ways to preserve foods. Fresh, then fermented, then frozen. My next favorite is dehydrated.

Since eating Paleo the dehydrated foods taste so incredibly sweet! Once the liquid is gone, the flavor the food is super concentrated. Today, I went to lunch (at Cheesecake Factory)with a girlfriend. I would not suggest this until you are past the craving phase. Skip the bread basket and tell the server that you are on “Paleo” and see what the chef suggests. This serves two fold, she will refrain from trying to tempt you with a dessert menu and the chef just might add a little surprise. The warm asparagus salad comes with a sprinkling of sundried tomatoes and pinon nuts. (yum!). He added extra! (Somebody please hit the like button!). Though I drank ice water with my meal, I decided to splurge and have a cup of coffee for dessert. While I was cupping the hot ceramic mug in my hands, sipping the wonderful drink that I usually save for mornings and listening to one of my favorite friends chatting from the other side of the table; I felt quite spoiled.

Wait-why did I tell you all that? Oh yes, the sun dried (dehydrated) tomatoes. So sweet and perfect!

What am I dehydrating right now? Well everybody knows about apple slices, but have you ever had a dehydrated pear slice. It tastes like candy. Seriously! Ripe pears are so sweet, but their juice dilutes that sweetness out, spreading it all over your hands, down your arm and onto your clothes. But when you dehydrate that baby. My oh my! Pear candy!

I peeled some and left the peels on some others. After slicing the pears, they went into a lemon juice and water bath for just a few minutes. Then, on to the dehydrator tray.

The lemon juice and water bath helps the pears keep from turning brown.

The lemon juice and water bath helps the pears keep from turning brown.

 

Give it a try. I am going to go now to buy more pears. Steve loves these. They will not last long!

 

This post was shared with my friends at Simple Saturdays Blog Hop

Manic Mother

And at http://www.schneiderpeeps.com/simple-lives-thursday-213/ and
 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Dehydrated Foods-Pear Candy

  1. Emily says:

    Yum! I love dehydrated apples, never thought about pears though!

  2. KELEA NEVIS says:

    Ohhhhhhhhh can’t wait to try these!!!

  3. Teresa Ryals says:

    Great idea!! How long does it take to dehydrate?

  4. Lana Booher says:

    thinking of candied ginger, I wonder

  5. Eva Holloway says:

    why waterbath?

    • Thank you for asking Eva. The water bath is a mixture of 1 gallon of water to 1/4 cp lemon juice. I put the prepped slices in this while I am cutting up more more fruit. This lemon mixture keeps the pears from turning too dark.

  6. Lisa says:

    Perfect! I have 2-5 gallon buckets of pears sitting in my kitchen right now and I already canned up 3 buckets! So, which pear slices did you prefer; skins on or skins off?

  7. Joy M says:

    This is just how I did mine. Thanks for the confirmation. 😀

  8. Angi @ SchneiderPeeps says:

    oh, I’m going to try these! I bet my kids will love them. Thanks for sharing at Simple Lives Thursday; hope to see you again this week.

  9. Pingback: Simple Lives Thursday #214

  10. Pingback: Simple Lives Thursday #214 « Homespun Oasis

Leave a Reply

