Food Preservation in Order of My Favorites

Avocado Pits

Avocado Pits

 

My very favorite way to eat the bounty from my backyard is same day fresh. It makes sense that fresh is best. But I have other ways to keep that food from being wasted.

Of coarse the refrigerator is the first option. Until now, the freezer was my next favorite way. But since discovering fermentation; the art of harnessing and employing  microscopic creatures (that are everywhere anyway) to enrich and preserve your food naturally-has bumped the freezer to the next place in line.

We have already begun talking about fermentation-and we will continue.

But today I want to tell you something new that I am doing with my freezer. Here we go again you say. I know, but this is really cool.

We have talked about ice cubes trays.  I use them to freeze wine, iced tea, lemonade and juice. I do this so that when I pour a glass of something over something ice cubes, my drink stays cold and does not get diluted.

I use ice cube trays to freeze herbs or pesto into little blocks of goodness to pop into a plastic bag and store in that wonderful appliance that I love so much.

But today, I am going to share something new with you. Don’t tell anybody, but I eat avocado pits. Silence, boy she is weird.  Yep, that is right! I heard about it along time ago from a man who was eating “Raw” to ease his inflammatory pain. He said that the Avocado pits had tons of anti-inflammatory properties and anti-oxidants.

After doing some research of my own; this is what I have read finding. I found the information put together quite well on one of the nutrition forums that I follow. It is not word for word though.

The benefits of an Avocado Pit

1. Fiber. More soluble fiber ounce per ounce than almost any other food.

2. Antibacterial and antifungal. Some researches say that there is evidence that avocado seeds inhibit the growth of bacteria in the gram positive rod group and also of a variety of fungii including candida.

3. Antioxidants. 70% of the total antioxidants from the whole avocado are found within the seed, which means we often throw away the best part.

4. Anti-cancer!! A flavenol from avocado seed was given to rats with cancer, which induced programmed cell death (apoptosis) in the cancer cells.

5. Anti-inflammatory for the GI tract. Historically avocado seeds were used in South America to help treat dysentery, gastric ulcers and other digestive disorders.

6. Boosts skin collagen. Avodaco seed oil actually boosts collagen production in your skin and makes hair shinier and skin soft.

7. Boosts heart health. The oils from avocado seeds and flesh include 71% monounsaturated fats (MUFA), 13% polyunsaturated fats (PUFA) and 16% saturated fatty acids (SFA). This helps promote healthy blood lipid profiles and support cardiovascular health.

I do want to tell you that I don’t just go gnawing on the pit though. After I chop up an avocado, I set the pit in a bowl and set it aside. The next morning I put 1/2 of it in my Vitamix with my smoothie.

Pits and water

Pits and water

Bright Orange

Bright Orange

Lately, I have not been drinking smoothies. Today, I did something different with yesterday’s avocados. I put the two pits into my Vitamix with 1 cup of water and pulverized it. I love how it turned the liquid a bright orange.  Then I poured the mixture into ice cube trays. When they are frozen, I will pop them into a plastic bag to wait until I am ready to use them.

Avocado pit ice cubes

Avocado pit ice cubes

Hooray for my freezer!

This post was featured in http://newlifeonahomestead.com/2014/09/mondays-homestead-barn-hop-177/

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in avocado, fermented foods, Freezer, Preserving food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Preservation in Order of My Favorites

  1. Kelea Nevis. says:

    Too cool – love the resulting color also!

Leave a Reply

