A Summer Wine

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not summer whine, silly! Summer wine. Though we desert rats do whine a lot in the summer time. A lot! It is too hot outside! The electric bill is too high and the ever popular; it is Friday night on a holiday weekend and the air conditioner just died. Yikes!

Ok-back to the subject.

Those of you who follow, know that I enjoy a glass of wine (Pinot Noir) on a Friday or Saturday night. Paleo does not truly dis-allow it. It is better than beer as far as that goes. When Steve and I go out with friends, I will order the wine that is suggested with the food. It really does make all the difference in the world. One glass is all that I really need to enjoy the experience. I am a big believer in moderation. Besides; two glasses will just get me into trouble.

I have gone to some wine tastings, and I actually have a girl friend that has the same taste as I do. But we also try to challenge each other just a bit.

I have another friend who said that she had never really learned how to enjoy wine. I will share with you what I told her. Don’t be offended if you are a guy (just have some fun), I only know how to teach a lady to drink wine.

Most ladies expect their first experience with wine to be sweet. They order a glass of red (because it is pretty) and are disappointed that it puckers their face up. That will just ruin your mascara. Don’t do it. But if baby steps are taken, your taste buds will grow up and learn to enjoy the bigger flavor of the reds. It is kind of like learning how to drink coffee black.

A great way to start is with a rose ( Roz-A). I just can’t find the button to put the little thingy over the e.

Rose is pretty, it is pink. It is a lighter wine. It is the choice of many of my friends because it is sweeter than most wines. It also goes with a lot of different foods. So you do not have to worry about white wine with white meat and red wine with red meat. I like this wine during the summer, because it is one wine that is best ice cold; making it a refreshing drink for a warm (ok, blistering hot) evening. It is perfectly appropriate to store the container in the fridge.

Make wine ice cubes so that your wine stays cold without diluting it.

Make wine ice cubes so that your wine stays cold without diluting it.

I opened my new bottle earlier in the day and made “wine cubes”. Then I used the little gadget to pump the air out and reseal the bottle until we were ready for a glass.

Later when we were ready for dinner, I put the ice cubes in the glass and filled it up with cold wine. Very nice.

My ice cold wine will stay cold and refreshing, no matter how hot it is outside.

My ice cold wine will stay cold and refreshing, no matter how hot it is outside.

Cheers!

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

