What I am learning about Paleo

Fine tuning what I am learning about Paleo

Fine tuning what I am learning about Paleo

First let me say that my desire to help Steve succeed on Paleo is partially selfish in motive. I want him to realize the importance of eating real food. Organic vegetables grown in our garden, an orchard full of the right varieties of fruit/nut trees to grow in the desert and meat from animals that are grazed on real pasture, year round.

The more that I read about Paleo, the more that I realize that this is the right way to convince Steve.

The thing that I have learned about Paleo is that when embarking on this new way of eating , do not listen to friends. If you are going to be successful; get the book, read it, all of it. I bought “The Paleo Diet” book at a yardsale for 50 cents. It is very plain, clear and easy to understand. It does not sugar coat what you have to do in order to succeed. I would also suggest that you stop looking for bread replacements, pancake replacements, and brownie replacements. At least at first. Just concentrate on honing your creative skills with the basics. Once you loose your weight, then by all means-treat yourself-Paleo style.

Even while on “The Virgin Diet” with a group of friends, I found that we were spending more time trying to figure out how to make up recipes for desserts than we were with the basics. But I guess that is human nature.

Spend some time falling in love with real food again. Do you know how sweet spaghetti squash can taste? The joys of riced brocoli or cauliflower?But they pale in comparison when it is competing with some creation that is filled with honey, maple syrup or stevia? I am talking to myself here more than anything. Give real food a real  chance.

It won’t be long.  Steve has reached his goal of 10#. But it did not take a month. It only two weeks. He has promised to stick with it for another two weeks though. He found another 5# that he did not know was there. But that is ok, I have a couple more Paleo cookbooks next to the bed.

If you are serious about loosing weight, feeling great and watching your health improve; you cannot try it, you need to do this. I know people that eat Paleo on certain days of the week and then go off on others. From what I am reading; that would be worse than not eating Paleo at all.

The first week, I did give Steve bacon, and some raw dairy to help him get through the first 3 days. His addiction is to sweets. I learned in nursing school that an addiction really only  lasts in the body for 3 days. After that it is psychological. Steve lost 5# in the first week. After reading the book, I cut back on the bacon. He is still drinking the raw goat’s milk. He loves it and I am convinced that it is raw milk that does a body good. He has lost an additional 5# in the second week.days. He is reporting to me that he is experiencing less stiffness in joints that were previously problematic.  He is sleeping better and has reported clearer thinking.

I have joined him with this way of eating in  order to encourage him. It is not as much a leap for me, because I eat pretty close to this way already. I too have noticed a difference n the way that I feel because I am back on a regimen. My chiropractor told me yesterday that I was doing so well that he felt cheated.

Cheat alert- We do however enjoy our glass of wine on a Friday or a Saturday night with friends, so we are not suffering too much.

I will continue to keep you informed as to how this goes.

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Paleo. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I am learning about Paleo

  1. Darlene says:

    My husband and I began yesterday. Not a fan of goat milk but LOVE raw cows milk. IS that ok to drink?

Leave a Reply

