Mr Paleo? Really?

My recipe for a Paleo Casserole

My recipe for a Paleo Casserole

For those of you that have been following along, You know that Steve loves his carbs. The whiter the bread, the fluffier the potatoes, the sweeter anything is; the better.
So when he told me that he would like to give “Paleo” a try for the month of September, I was shocked. After I got up off the floor, I went the computer and researched the rules of this diet. It is not that far off from “The Virgin Diet” which is my personal favorite. But I realized that I could help him make this work. It is very important to the success of this diet to not allow yourself to become hungry during the first 3 days. After 3 days in a row of eating this way, the craving for sweets becomes a much smaller and more manageable monster.
I do know that with Steve, once he is hungry; he has gone too long without food. I have to stand back, out of arms reach and throw cookies at him until he looks safe. The trick is- to not allow him to become hungry in the first place. Hmm, maybe this could work.

Ok- so this is what I did.

On labor day we spent the day with his grandkids. The menu was donuts, pizza, brownies and peach pie. Goodness gracious was Steve ever in Hea—ven. When I told his daughter that Steve was going Paleo for September; she looked at him and said “I’m sorry!” Then she told me that she would pray for me and send me recipes.

When we got home I baked off a pound of bacon and put it in the fridge. I roasted a bunch of chicken thighs and I made some loaves of Paleo Banana bread.

Bacon, eggs and paleo banana bread

Bacon, eggs and paleo banana bread

This morning after the animals were cared for, I told him that he needed to come downstairs early, so that he could eat breakfast. Normally he grabs his coffee on his way out the door, heads to work and eats there. If you guessed bagels or donuts. (This man should weigh 400 lbs!) The lady who owns the bagel cart is just going to have to do without him for awhile.

His lunch bag had a peach, some cold chicken thighs,a bag of walnuts with raisins, and a baggy of ham and cheese slices. I told him not to allow himself to get hungry today. He looked at how serious I was being and said “Yes dear”

When he got home, dinner was ready.

This is what I made him. After looking at several Paleo Frittata recipes, they were all very similar, I felt that I had the idea and made my own. I like my food highly seasoned. Steve says that he does not, but he always raves about the food that I make.

 1 lb of grass fed hamburger (I get mine at the Farmer’s Market)
 6 strips of bacon (I baked those off last night-save 2Tablespoons of drippings)
 (8) eggs (My hens)
 (2) cups mushrooms, chopped
 1/2 cup shallots, chopped (I have a bunch them from my garden, already chopped and frozen)
 2 cloves of garlic. Chopped (from the garden, hanging in pantyhose in my hoarding room)
 1/4 tsp nutmeg
 3 cups of kale, chopped (from my garden via the freezer)
 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, divided
 1/2 cup almond flour
 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (we like sharp)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Crumble and cook the burger on low. Grass fed usually needs a little fat in the pan, but if you cook it slowly you do not need it. Don’t forget to salt and pepper it to your liking. Put the coconut oil in a large skillet and cook the shallots, then add the garlic and cook it just til done. (You do not want to burn garlic!) then add the mushrooms and kale. Cook til tender. Last add the nutmeg.

Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and mix in the almond flour.

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.
When the hamburger is cooked, pour it into a 9X13 pan. No need to drain, there should not be much grease in your pan if you used grass fed. Chop up the bacon (and drippings) mix into the veggie mixture. Dump and spread this over the hamburger.
Next, pour the egg mixture on top and then sprinkle with cheddar cheese. After I made it I thought that some crispy fried shallots would also be great on top. Oh well, next time. Bake for 15 minutes, til the eggs are set.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in paleo recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mr Paleo? Really?

  1. I thought that paleo was dairy free??? I am new to figuring out something different from what I have been cooking up… so I had to read this!

    Thanks!

    • Todd- Wow- thank you for that reminder. It looks like you have been reading too! I have read so many variations of the Paleo diet. Paleo, Primal, Caveman, Modified Paleo. Some of them say dairy free (due to possible inflammation), some say no bananas (high carbs), some say no honey (too much sweetener). Others say some raw milk or cheese is ok and that a little honey is fine; as long as it is raw. Many of the paleo recipes call for bananas and honey. I know, it is enough to make your head spin. So I will do what I can do to help Steve stay away from refined sugars, because I really want him to succeed and to realize that “real food” is where it is at. He was excited to step on the scale this am to see that he did indeed loose weight. My goal is to work more vegetables in and decrease the carbs, once he gets past the first three days. Everyone says that is the toughest part of the diet and the cravings will lessen after that point.
      Neither one of us have inflammation issues with cheese or raw dairy, so if he can eat it and still loose weight and feel good then we will continue this path.
      I hope that this encourages you in that your body is unique and what it takes for you to succeed may different than what someone tells you.
      Please feel free to follow along and see how we tweak our plan on our road to feeling better by eating more Real food.

Leave a Reply

