How to Bake that Frozen Unbaked Fruit Pie

My Salted Caramel Peach Pie

My Salted Caramel Peach Pie

Start in the morning preferable on a day that your family is gone to work and school. There is a reason for that. You will find out as you read.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Once the oven is hot- pull the pie out of the freezer, put it back in the pie pan and place on a foil line baking sheet. Cover the frozen pie with foil and place in the oven. Bake it for 15 minutes. Now turn the oven down to 375 degrees and bake an additional 15 minutes.

Take the foil off of the pie and bake for 45 minutes.

Take the pie from the oven and brush with an egg white wash then sprinkle sugar on it. Put it back in the oven and bake 15 minutes or until it looks done to you.

Here is the reason that you do this in the morning-on a day that everyone is gone. It is important to cool the pie completely. A warm pie will fall apart when still warm. The juices will spill out and collapse the pie.

I baked this pie on a Saturday morning while Steve was yardsaling. When he came home,  he hovered around that cooling pie all day. He said that he was just worried that it needed his watchful eye to keep it from falling off of the counter top. I knew that he was secretly hoping that I would give up and allow him to dig in. I felt cruel, so I let him go for it and it  did fall. Next time, I will make and cool the pie before he gets home, so that I can take a picture for you of a beautiful slice.

Steve knows that I like to experiment with my recipes. He said just now “this is the best peach pie that I have ever tasted! Stop experimenting, write it down and keep this recipe forever.” I think that he liked it.

Last year I played around with an apple pie recipe. When I got the filling just right I called it my “Salted Caramel Apple Pie Filling”

I used the same recipe for this peach pie, except I added 2 Tablespoons of tapioca to “tighten up” the filling. Peaches are much juicier than apples and need a little help.

Here is the recipe. I call it my “Salted Caramel Peach Pie Filling

Make enough pie dough for a double crusted 9 inch deep dish pie plate.

8 large peaches- preferably a cling free variety-this will make it easier to cut the peaches way from the pit.

1/2 cup brown sugar to 1/4 cup white sugar-this is the secret to making it so caramelly.

1/4 cup flour-this will help the juices to thicken and keep the pie crust from being too soggy.

2 Tblsp of tapioca (for the peach pie)

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of salt-this is a little more than usual-but trust me. Salted caramel needs salt.

Dunk the peaches in the boiling water long enough for the skins to loosen when pinched. Drain and rub the skins off. Slice.

Put all the other ingredients into a big bowl and stir in the peach slices until completely covered. That’s it. Now assemble your pie and bake it.

Do not forget to allow it to cool prior to eating it.

Green Thumb Thursday

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Peaches, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Bake that Frozen Unbaked Fruit Pie

  1. That recipe sounds heavenly. Thank you so much for sharing it with us on Green Thumb Thursday.

  2. Jessica-You are welcome and thank you for letting me join in on the fun.

Leave a Reply

