I am a Farm Stalker

I'm watching you.

I’m watching you.

I know it sounds creepy. But let me explain.

Long ago (more than 10 years), in a house far far away (about 40 miles); I was in my backyard harvesting my own vegetables. A memory came to me. As a kid, we lived on 10 acres. We had chickens, rabbits, goats, pigs, horses, cows and other assorted critters. It was a lovely way for a family to live.

Once the memory faded back to the recesses of my mind, I thought that it would be nice to have some chickens, some rabbits and a couple of goats in my larger than normal backyard.

I did not have a computer or a cell phone. But I did have a newspaper and a telephone on the wall (that was back in the dinosaur days). So I found out about a rabbit show and decided to attend. My purpose was to network with people who were the best at raising what I wanted to raise.

At the show, I met several people who were eager to sell me some rabbits. But instead of bringing home bunnies. I brought home contact information. I called and made appointments to visit the “bunny barns”. I found that if a person did not have anything to hide, they were happy to have you visit their place.

I also found that people who raise rabbits, usually know people who have other animals. I am a networker at heart, so the networking and acquisition of quality stock began.

Soon, I had rabbits, chickens and goats in my backyard; all adding to the abundance of my life. I did not need anymore animals, and was wise enough to know when to say “when”, but I found that I loved networking with the type of people who keep them. I would bring them vegetables or offer to  help them with their chores, and they would share information with me or introduce me to their friends and so on. I still do that today. I never tire of learning something new about this lifestyle.

Over time, I found that I had something to offer them too. Most of the people that raised animals did not know how to grow vegetables in the desert. So I taught them what I knew. Once, my husband and I built a couple of garden beds for an elderly lady who had a lot of knowledge about dairy animals. She came from Wisconsin after all. But her attempts at gardening always seemed to fail. I spent many visits to her place; learning about diary and teaching her about gardening. She now calls herself a gardener. I think that it is lovely.

In the last 5 years, this backyard food production idea has really caught on. People are much more receptive to the idea. These days, I not only have vegetables to offer, but I have eggs, dairy and other products that can be safely raised in a backyard-the size of a normal residential lot. I have all the projects that this backyard can handle.

But I still stalk farms.

Green Thumb Thursday

 

 

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in farm stalking, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

