Journey to the Farm

 

Sailing or Saleing?

Sailing or Sale ing?

Now that my little house is sold, and the money from the sale is safely in the bank…

We are searching far and wide for our little farm. We use the normal tools; the internet sites, and suggestions from friends. But so far, the perfect property has eluded us. Steve wants a beautifully updated home- single story and no pool. I am not as picky; but I do insist on irrigation.

Our new home is out there somewhere, just waiting for us. It will all happen.

In the mean time, we started looking at all the stuff that we will have to move or store when we go. We have a lot of stuff! When I met Steve, I had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom house full of stuff. When my former spouse left-he took his pillow, his binoculars and his car. Oh yeah, on his way out he stopped at the bank and took all the money.

When Steve’s former wife left-she took her wardrobe, her jewelry, her cat and half the money.

So we each had a houseful of- you guessed it-stuff. His house was big enough to cram it all into. Over time, we have gotten rid of some of it, but this is a big house and so we became quite comfortable holding on to things that the kids don’t want and we don’t use. Sound familiar?

Now, with the thought of moving (Please God-let it be a smaller home!) we need to get rid of some of it.

Today was our first official “Journey to the Farm-Yard sale”!

Last night after dinner, we decided to go through the house and gather items (I bet you thought that I was going to say stuff), that we were now ready to part with. We carried it all out to the garage. We opened the garage door at 6:30 and sold most of it by 9:00.

We met a lot of nice people, I stopped one lady from stealing an arm load of purses. (She said that she did not realize that she had 4 purses on one arm and two on the other.) I gave my cards out to people who want to follow along with the blog and the Facebook page.

We loaded up what little was left and took it to Good Will and then we took a nap. One of my friends says that she would rather just take the donation credit and haul it all to Good Will. But we would miss all the fun if we did that.

I am going to dive in and find more stuff around here; to drag out there and do this a few more times before we move.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Journey to the farm, Yardsaling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

