A Quick Review of Duck Eggs

Duck and chicken egg

The egg to the bottom left is the chicken egg.

 

Last week I bought some pastured duck eggs at the Farmer’s Market.

That night, I made an omelet, a salad and some bread rolls for dinner. The omelet tasted no different than one made from my hen’s eggs.

A few days later, I made some scrambled eggs for breakfast. Again, no difference.

But yesterday I made myself some fried eggs. That is where I noticed the difference. The eggs tasted the same, but the texture of the white part was just a little tougher. It was not the melt in your mouth texture that I am used to. The flavor was the same, at least to me.

I have had people tell me that a duck egg is  1 1/2 times the size of a hen’s egg and that 2 duck eggs equals 3 hen’s eggs.  I measured the eggs in a measuring cup. What I found is that the duck egg is 1 1/3 the size of a hen’s egg. That means in my kitchen, 4 duck eggs equals 3 chicken eggs. Maybe my chicken eggs are a little bigger than conventionally raised chicken eggs.

I will tell you that the shell of a duck egg is very thick and much tougher to crack than a chicken egg. You can bet that I saved those shells to grind and feed back to my hens.

Green Thumb Thursday

 

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

