Okra in August

Okra blossom

Okra blossom

Okra loves the heat. The hotter, the better. I planted my okra in March and spent all summer waiting for this. The plants take their time to grow big and strong. My stalks are 4 feet high. But the wait was worth it. In the morning I am greeted by this beautiful blossom. It only stays open a short time. I will pick a pod in the next day or two where this flower once was.

The pods grow so fast as a matter of fact that I have to pick pods twice a day. The pods that are not quite ready in the morning will be too big and woody tomorrow, so I will have to pick them tonight.  The pods that are not quite ready tonight will be ready to pick in the morning. We have been eating a lot of okra the last couple of weeks and will continue to do so. Soon we will be sick of eating it fresh and I will freeze it. Okra is also canned, but I am not fond of it that way.

My favorite way to eat okra is after it has been roasted with olive oil, salt and pepper.

It is just one more way to eat year round from the garden.

About sharinglifesabundance

I am a backyard food producer. I grow 800 square feet of organic vegetables in the desert year round.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okra in August

  1. Joe Mammino says:

    Wish i lived next door to you :-). I like my Okra deep fried so all the sliminess is gone and they are crunchy

  2. Wouldn’t that be absolutely lovely Joe! You could tend roses between our front yards, and I would bring you okra. Yes, you are right! Fried okra is very nice.

Leave a Reply

